Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!





Hyundai Azera Navigation System

124

Comments

  • allmet33allmet33 Posts: 3,557
    ;)

    Hey Wobbly...if you want even more of an OEM look, there's a piece at Korean Auto Imports you can purchase, but the price is pretty steep ($850 and you have to add your own source unit). You would install a single din unit where the cubby is below the climate controls and the space where the OEM unit normally goes...is occupied by a 7" screen...the kicker is that it's not navigation compatible outside of Korea. So the most you could hope for is adding a DVD player and a back-up camera.

    Azera In-Dash Audio/Video LCD

    image
  • LisaDLisaD Posts: 50
    Allmet - My problem is I'm going to be getting the 605w, 10-speaker, Infinity Logic7. I happen to like the sound. It's vastly better than the factory 3?? watt non-Logic7's IMO.

    So I do not want to nuke that amp for a crappy amp that will be built-in to the Nav I'm likely going to buy (some 4-channel whatever). I'm seeing nothing at Scosche to allow me to bypass the amp in a aftermarket headunit to fully use the external that came with the car. IDK why I'm the only one who is concerned with this bypassing thing. I don't want to dumb down my audio by being amped by the head unit.

    I'm not even understanding how to pic an aftermarket nav unit to know it will plug into that amp properly. Are all amps created equal with ports?
  • allmet33allmet33 Posts: 3,557
    Okay...you're not understanding the concept here. No matter what you buy and install it is going to have a built in amp, even the OEM units have a built in amp. The difference is the output of the amp on an OEM unit vs. an aftermarket unit.

    The Infinity Logic 7 amp merely takes a 4 channel signal and breaks it up further so that you end up with a center channel and subwoofer in the mix. What the Logic 7 amp also does is cuts certain frequecies going to certain speakers so that you get maximum performance from the entire system.

    Like I said before, you can hook ANY aftermarket unit up and still get the benefits of the Logic 7 amp...my aftermarket unit is using the Logic 7 amp. I didn't want to bypass the OEM amp because I wanted to keep my center channel active. The only thing I said was that you would have to tweak the settings on the aftermarket unit down a little bit to compensate for the extra power output the unit has so your sound won't distort easily.

    The only way you might be able to get around it would be to utilize the RCA outputs on the unit and buy the wires that have RCA connectors on one end and regular speaker wire ends on the other. Instead of tying in the regular speaker wire outs of the aftermarket unit, grab the RCA outputs of the aftermarket unit, plug in the wires and then splice the ends into the wire harness. What you would have done at this point is utilized the low level output and effectively cut down on the amount of distortion you would get.

    The only time you can by-pass the amp in the aftermarket unit (only some have the feature) is by using the low level outputs (RCA connectors). Some units allow you to go in and turn off the internal amp because you're using an external amp. So...the key to make this work would be making sure you get an aftermarket nav unit that has RCA outputs for the front & rear so you can splice those into the wire harness. Don't worry about the subwoofer out on the aftermarket unit because the Logic 7 amp only has 4 inputs, but it breaks the signal up and sends lower frequencies to the sub without a separate hook up.

    To pick and aftermarket unit, go out and look and see what gives you all the features you desire. Once you choose, purchase the dash kit and wiring harness from either Scosche or Metra. You can either follow the directions to connecting the wires via the instructions that come with the wire harness (or do what I suggested converting the low level outputs to speaker wire connections) and you'll be fine.

    I'm not even understanding how to pic an aftermarket nav unit to know it will plug into that amp properly. Are all amps created equal with ports?

    Not sure what you mean by this question here.
  • Does anybody know if there are any other automakers offering "DVD-Video" on their navigation systems besides Hyundai, Cadilliac and Toyota/Lexus?
  • rk2469rk2469 Posts: 30
    That does look sweet. Is this your picture?
  • allmet33allmet33 Posts: 3,557
    No...it is not my install. I posted it so that others could see how a double din unit with a 7" screen would look in the dash of the Azera. One advantage that person has...black interior. He could put almost anything in his dash and it will look good. I have the tan interior, so it's harder for me. However, at some point after I've saved up enough lunch money...I will have a 7" double din unit in my dash as well.
  • Just to bring you up to date - I did call the LG (888 #) and was pretty much told too bad and that I needed to update my navigator with their $200.00 card. They could not tell me if the card would help or not - or even if it updated my area. I was toying with the idea ....... and guess what - my entire system - navigator, radio and DVD went out. The dealer has ordered another - so perhaps it will come with the updated card! Keep your fingers crossed!

    Has anyone else had problems with the 2008 Azera Navigation System? Still love the car! :)
  • allmet33allmet33 Posts: 3,557
    Sorry to hear of your complications, I truly hope that the newer unit will solve your problems. Good luck!!!
  • rv65rv65 Posts: 1,074
    To confirm that you got the latest map update you press Setup then Device info. That will tell you the Map DB version. The new Update is this year.
  • I just wanted to give you all an update on my the navigation system that the dealer replaced. I haven't checked yet to see if it is an updated card - I keep forgetting too - BUT - so far so good. It's not telling me to turn where there are no turns and appears to be working properly.

    Perhaps I just got a lemon for my first navigator.

    Just thought you all might like to know.
  • rv65rv65 Posts: 1,074
    Use the mapnsoft.com instructions to find out what version you have. The new version is from early 2009. Glad it's working better for you.
  • Well I've tried two of the best car stereo guys in phoenix and they both agree.. There is no way to bypass the Video/park lock scenario on the lg NAV DVD unit and there is no way to add a direct ipod hookup or controller. Sold my NAV unit on ebay for $500 and switched to a Pioneer AVIC-Z110BT, the second generation. I put the Avic-Z3 in my truck and love it. looks like a factory install and all the nav functions and voice activation works great and sound great with the infinity speakers. I can hook an ipod and an iphone up at the same time and play dvd's while the engine is running LG admits the shortcoming on that unit but it was only used in 08 and they are not upgrading any firmware, ever. the mapnsoft update was an expensive joke and really not needed, but luckily I returned it and got my $$ back by disputing on my credit card.If you do keep the lg unit in your car, DO NOT bother with the new mapnsoft update, we have roads in phoenix that have been built for 3 years and are still not in their database..GARMIN THEY ARE NOT
  • LisaDLisaD Posts: 50
    It's my understanding people HAVE bypassed the lockout for the DVD on this portless crippled POS beast.

    That Pioneer looks insanely amazing. Saw some vids on it last week and was like... "wow". If you could post some pics of that install - that would be interesting.

    Are you running your iPhone vids on it? I assume it has RCA video inputs in the back to allow porting of apps on the screen.

    I have concern about adding a new head unit with losing Logic7 and being forced to change the speakers, etc. Did you have to change the speakers? I'm curious as to what the differences in sound are.
  • allmet33allmet33 Posts: 3,557
    LisaD...you can change the head unit and not have to worry about changing the speakers. You also will not lose the Logic7 functionality of the amp. Actually....that is the very reason I didn't bypass the factory amp in my Azera when I swapped out my head unit. By swapping head units out you not only keep your current Logic7 capability, you can add USB port, more & better sound shaping controls and added expandability.

    You can set the settings on the aftermarket head unit to accomodate the fact you still have the factory speakers in place.
  • I have not been on here in a while, so has anyone figured out or found a unit that I can replace my current xm/nav system with one that will allow me to keep the XM/NAV/DVD and add a ipod connector? I'm willing to bite the bullet and spend the money.

    Sheesh you would think by now, with all these people who can hack and do harm, someone would make something that people would actually buy. :mad:
  • I posted the pinouts and pin-ins on the back of my nav unit but no one mentioned anything. aside from the 24 and 32 pin connections there are two other connections in the back on the upper left that I have not been able to identify. I don't have contacts back in Korea at LG to get information and LG USA hasn't answered my questions.
  • allmet33allmet33 Posts: 3,557
    Msazzyindc...there are plenty of products out there you can purchase to suit your needs.

    All of these units are in-dash nav units, the first two come with bluetooth built in, all can be expanded to have XM/Sirius, iPod connectivity. Of course, you can also order and adapter via PAC1 that will allow you to maintain your steering wheel controls as well. It really boils down to how much you want to spend. One thing I can guarantee is that you will get much better sound and better control of your music.

    Eclipse AVN-62D

    Pioneer AVIC-U310BT

    Kenwood DNX-5140
  • allmet33allmet33 Posts: 3,557
    Parrotsquawk, I saw your posting and didn't respond because I don't have an answer for you. The only time I dealt with the pins in the harness was when Scosche needed to get the configuration right so that the OEM amp would turn on. I've also never dealt with the Azera nav system either. You may need to find a really good aftermarket car audio shop and see if someone there can assist you with what you're seeking. Sorry I can't be of further assistance.
  • Of all the in-dash replacement units I have seen for my 2009 Limited, I have yet to find one that has satellite radio functionality of my 4 year old PNP Sirius Sportster. It has a remote, a display mode to show what is on 10 channels (either sequentially in the list or by category) and a game alert for when my favorite teams are playing. Also, the GPS system does not allow the input of waypoints so it can be a bit difficult to plan a complex route, other than entering each destination sequentially. The lack of Bluetooth integration is a glaring oversight as well.

    When I looked at some 2 din replacements, however, some did offer DVD/Blu-ray/Rear Seat output/backup camera input but none of the sites show actual functionality of these units in real life situations: show me how to change channels, how to enter destinations, how to make phone calls, etc...you would think the manufacturer would be happy to show these videos!

    At this time, I am not ready to plunk down 1500 for an audio upgrade. I am saving my money to buy a driver's seat from Australian Grandeur (their version of the Azera) for the passenger side to give it full power adjustment and lumbar control as well as the inside door panel and memory controller. I am also saving up for a parking assist package (also offered in Australia for this model.) The Grandeur even has a funky roof rack and an available eco-diesel engine! http://www.caradvice.com.au/20730/2009-hyundai-grandeur-crdi-review/
  • allmet33allmet33 Posts: 3,557
    Well...considering you're comparing apples to oranges...it's not fair. Maybe you need to spend some time evaluating the various in-dash units on the market. I'm sure you would find one that would suit your needs. Not sure what you mean by lack of Bluetooth integration, all three models I posted earlier allow for Bluetooth integration.

    Good luck finding a site that shows you any in-dash unit being used in real-world settings. Your best bet maybe to look on You Tube.

    Not sure why you would plunk down $1500 for an audio upgrade, my complete system upgrade (head unit, all door speakers, center channel speaker, 2 10" subs and amp to run them) came in well under $1000. There are clearly models out there for at least half (and less) that will address all the features you woudl really need.

    Sounds like you're getting ready to dump a whole lof of money into your car that won't help resale value in any way. You're better off saving up your money and getting the Equus when it comes out if power passenger seat is that important to you.

    A roof rack on the Azera/Grandeur... :confuse:

    In the end, it boils down to what a particular person wants and feels they need. The posting of the in-dash nav units wasn't exactly for you, as Msazzyindc had asked me about some units that would give her what she was looking for. It sounds to me like you really just need the upgraded Infinity sound system and you can carry around your 4 year old PNP Sirius Sportster and be quite happy.
  • Ok... point by point.

    1. I was referring to the lack of BT on the factory LGE POI NAV HU in the Limited WITH the Infinity sound package.

    2. I would love to try all these HU's but I have yet to find an aftermarket stereo store around here in West Palm Beach that have radios connected to a satellite source.

    3. I have looked on YT and have not found videos that show satellite radio operation.

    4. the 1500 was a just a number pulled out of my GMO (gluteus maximus oriface)

    5. The power seat is not an issue just a thought because my wife asked me if it was available (she likes the lumbar support)

    6. I scratched my head at the roof rack too. It is designed for snowboards, surfboards and bike racks but it looks like it could handle a few painter's ladders too or some plumber's pipes.

    7. I have connected my 4 year old PNP and found a somewhat quiet FM frequency. I wonder if I can use the line out from the PNP to interrupt the XM Audio in signal coming to pins 4 and 20 of the 32 pin connector on the back of the radio since I don't intend on subscribing to XM (I have a lifetime Sirius subscription.)
    Then I would be happy enough. I just have to figure out how to replace the XM/GPS antenna with a Sirius/GPS module. Perhaps something from Ford, MB or Chrysler...
  • allmet33allmet33 Posts: 3,557
    Okay...I'm on the same page as you now. :blush:

    Lack of Bluetooth sorta had everyone scratching their head.

    The one store that does connect their HU's to a satellite source is Walmart, however...they don't carry double din units.

    I put the You Tube thing out there simply because you can find almost anything out there, wasn't really sure if there was or not...sorry.

    You would easily spend $1500 if you took it to an audio shop and got it from them.

    I never understood why car companies never take the front passenger's comfort into consideration. I mean...if a couple goes on a long trip, shouldn't the passenger seat be just as comfortable as the driver's seat? Who knows what they were thinking when they make that decision.

    I'm still trying to imagine an Azera rolling down the road with a roof rack. Guess it seems odd because I just haven't seen one. I've seen other cars with them, but not an Azera.

    Sounds like something you could try and see what happens. As far as the antenna issue, you may need to run a separate one and mount it on your trunk lid or something. Considering the low profile some have now, it wouldn't even be seen that much if you went that route.
  • What do you think of splicing into the XM Audio in as a replacement for the FM modulator option? I imagine that I can't fake the CAN BUS inputs but how about the audio signal alone?

    As an aside...

    My dad's 04' Maybach does not have BT but has a V60 hardwired to the radio. When I contacted Maybach (Becker actually) they said they could replace it with the newer unit...for $4,000.00....
    The satellite radio has no remote nor a way to input a channel directly. It has a lousy radio information display and control system too...but for 300k+ you do get massaging driver and passenger seats with 10 way power (including the headrests!), 5 memory positions and heating (but no cooling like his Navigator had...)
  • allmet33allmet33 Posts: 3,557
    You would be splicing the Sirius unit into the XM input???

    Sometimes...it's funny how cars are put together and what they come with...in regards to the price paid.
  • Yes. The connector appears to have two sets of leads back to the STU in the trunk. One to control the unit and one to take the audio out. I have to get the specs on the STU itself which may take a while. If so I may be able to put an AUX jack in that will disable the XM signal to the HU.

    :mad:
    PARTIAL FUNCTIONALITY WILL BE RESTORED! IT IS A MORAL IMPERATIVE! :mad:
  • allmet33allmet33 Posts: 3,557
    Seems like you could save a lot of time and effort and simply tie in via an FM modulator, or simply purchase an aftermarket unit that offers Sirius and sign that unit up to your account. Would save the hassle of trying to figure out how to by-pass the OEM XM source.
  • Too easy :)

    I just hate FM Modulator options as I always seem to hit areas that clobber them...but that may be the only way to do it.

    It's more of "damn it, this shouldn't be this hard" -itis.

    But the Kenwood DNX9140 does look quite sweet.....

    Are all GPS antenna connections the same? If so could I just replace the bug on the roof with a Sirius/GPS antenna unit (perhaps something from MB/Ford/Chrysler?)

    What kind of mods to the harness would be needed to tie into the Infinity and steering wheel controls?
  • allmet33allmet33 Posts: 3,557
    I figured you would say that. LOL

    As detestable as the modulator option may be, sometimes...it's the best solution if you don't want to get a unit with satellite radio incorporated. If you do, just spend a little extra money and get a really good FM modulator.

    The Kenwood DNX-9140 definitely looks like a sweet unit and that would be an option where you'll spend closer to $2000 for the unit and installation (unless you do it yourself).

    I'm not sure if the connections are the same, however...in some cases I would say yes because like the Kenwood unit...it can handle either XM or Sirius, depending on the package you purchase to connect to it. I'm not sure if it's just an antenna you get or an antenna and a tuner. I would think a tuner as it would have to interpret the signal received by the antenna.

    No mods would need to be made, you can actually purchase an adaptor that will allow you to utilize the steering wheel controls. The company that makes them is call PAC Swix...Universal Steering Wheel Control Adapter
  • The install seems straight forward (from videos I have seen) I am trying to find the instructions for doing the install myself. I know I have to install the SCC1 unit and run an antenna. I hear that the XM antennas are not satisfactory for Sirius reception. I also want to make sure that the Kenwood can accompdate HD radio as well as Sirius at the same time. I understand some units can do one or the other but don't have connections for two to be set up.
  • allmet33allmet33 Posts: 3,557
    The install really is pretty easy.

    The easiest way to find about the satellite and HD issue, contact Kenwood directly. They are usually pretty good about answering questions.
Sign In or Register to comment.