Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Taurus/Sable Maintenance & Repair

Comments

• wijocowijoco Posts: 462
    "It has nothing to do with the serpentine belt system either since it still does it with the belt off the car"
  • deniserdeniser Posts: 1
    Hi...

I have a 96 Taurus GL, a couple of days ago the "check engine" light came on and they hooked up the computer thingy (can you tell I am not a techie when it comes to cars) and found out that the code was for the Cam Shaft Sensor.

Can anyone tell me what this thing does, will it affect my car if I drive it and any idea as to what it is going to cost to get this thing fixed???

I haven't driven it since and wanted to find out some information online first before I go ahead with any sort of a fix.

Any HELP would be fantastic!!!!

Thanks...

Deniser
  • jasmith52jasmith52 Posts: 455
    OK - I stand corrected.

One of these days I'll learn to read
  • I have had my wagon for 5 years, it has never let me down till now. My front end is making all kinds of noise. It clunks when driving on flat surface at low rates of speed, it makes a horrible squeeking noise when you turn the steering wheel, I dont know what to do or where to begin. This car still has all of its factory parts from when it rolled off the line in 1997. It has 158K miles on it. The engine is strong. Do I invest in a new front end or let it go and replace the car. What components make up the front end, other than tye rods and the Ball joint, I have no idea as to where to start.
    Thanks
    Tara in FL
  • jasmith52jasmith52 Posts: 455
    A couple of comments:

You need to have a pro look at your car and make an evaluation. Yes it could be struts or ball joints tie-rods etc. After they take a look then you can decide whether or not to invest much in your car since the car is not worth much (other than to you).