Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Chevy Silverado and GMC Sierra General Shopping Questions

2»

Comments

• ljl64ljl64 Posts: 2
    I'm looking for a used ('01-'05) Silverado 1500, extended cab, under 70K miles, hopefully for around $15K. I rarely will load the truck to capacity, and tow a small trailer ocassionally. I drive mostly flat terrain in NJ, no off-road. Is the 2WD and/or V6 under powered for this full size truck? Is the 4WD recommended? LT vs LS?

Anyone familiar with that range of years have suggestions on which years were better than others?

Thanks,
    Jack
  • I'm looking at a 2002 Silverado z71. The truck itself has 146,000 miles on it. It just recently had the engine and transmission replaced. Has anyone had trouble with this model in the future. I'm no car expert and i'm not sure if this is going to be worth it in the long run. I expect for be driving this truck for the next couple years and i'm only a kid. I do not want to buy a truck that is just going to stall out on me in the near future. Can anyone give me advice?
  • bigz04bigz04 Posts: 12
    Hey I have a 2004 Chevy Z71, basically they are the same truck, if the 2002 had the engine and transmission replaced you should be in pretty good shape, your main question to the seller should be who and when was this done? Make sure this was not done by some back yard mechanic. The only thing I've found to be a issue with these trucks is the speedometer not working all the time, my truck has been in 5 times to try to get fixed. Other than that they are great trucks. Chevy are the only Truck makers that have Full time 4x4. Most chevy trucks will go places in 2wd that other trucks like "Ford" need 4x4 for. A stock Chevy depending on engine get 18 mpg stock hwy. Good Luck
  • Alright thanks for the advice. Yea i'm going to have it looked at by a reliable mechanic first for sure.