Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!





Mazda3 Dashboard and Instrumentation Questions

missyc1missyc1 Posts: 17
edited June 25 in Mazda
I just bought an 07' 3 "S touring" and noticed that the digital clock jumped ahead 30 minutes. I didn't touch anything.

Has anyone had this problem and what did you have to do to fix it?
«134

Comments

  • jc22jc22 Posts: 17
    Thanks to Andreas of Mazda3Forums I was able to unlock my trip computer on my 07 Mazda 3. It works for 06 too! Sorry, but this hack does not work for earlier models.

    1. Press and hold down CD and AM/FM buttons
    2. Start your car while still pressing down on those buttons
    3. The display will read, "DIS ON" which means Driver Information System On.
    4. Release the CD and AM/FM buttons
    5. Turn off and restart the car
    6. Now press the Set button and cycle through your avg. mpg, miles until empty, current mpg, and avg mph!

    Now you can truly know your Real MPG numbers! Which is a mixed blessing!

    Please pass this info to others!

    JC
  • jc22jc22 Posts: 17
    Thanks to Andreas of Mazda3Forums I was able to unlock my trip computer on my 07 Mazda 3. It works for 06 too! Sorry, but this hack does not work for earlier models.

    0. Make sure your radio is on and then turn-off the car (Thanks godaddy1)
    1. Press and hold down CD and AM/FM buttons
    2. Start your car while still pressing down on those buttons
    3. The LCD display will read, "DIS ON" which means Driver Information System On.
    4. Release the CD and AM/FM buttons
    5. Turn off and restart the car
    6. Now press the Set button and cycle through your avg. mpg, miles until empty, current mpg, and avg mph!

    Now you can truly know your Real MPG numbers! Which is a mixed blessing!

    Please pass this info to others!

    JC
  • mazdrvrmazdrvr Posts: 103
    So this will work on all trims of the 3 (s sport...)? *dumb ques, its not bad for the engine to keep turning on & off the car?
  • wosw7wosw7 Posts: 5
    You don't need to start the engine you just need to turn the key enough to supply power to the radio. This should work on all Trims since they all come with basically the same stereo.
  • d_hyperd_hyper Posts: 130
    You only need to do this once anyway.
  • Hi I have a 05 Mazda Axela limited which has the Bose Radio but i am unaware if my Radio has DIS? are you able to tell me if it does and if i replace my radio with one that supports DIS will my car work with the unit?

    cheers

    Blake
  • igozoomzoomigozoomzoom Waleska, GeorgiaPosts: 790
    I bought a 2006 Mazda3 Touring 5-door back in 12/05 and had issues with the clock. Mine would intermittently lose 15-20 minutes overnight. It would often go months without a problem and a few times it 'lost time' twice in the same week. There was no pattern or reason to it.

    A few months after I noticed the problem, Mazda issued a service bulletin and provided a revised part to correct the problem. My dealer fixed it within 15 minutes. That particular issue only affected 2006 models built prior to November 2005. It sounds as though your '07 has a similar bug.

    It was a little frustrating to me at the time, especially since this was my first non-Honda purchase. After 35k miles and almost two years, there have only been two warranty issues. One was the clock issue and the other was a problem with the adhesive used to secure shift knob on manual tranmsission cars. In hot weather, the knob would twist around and they gladly fixed that in no time as well. The service manager didn't even check the car in to speed me through the process.

    Give your dealer a call and let them know what's happening. You may not be the first one to have this issue and they may know exactly how to fix it.
  • missyc1missyc1 Posts: 17
    This is my first "non-Honda" purchase as well. And yeah, I looked at my clock when I got in my car as I always do leaving for work...7:34am. Happen to look down at in a few minutes later and it was 30 minutes fast! For a second I thought I was going to be late for work! :P Also, I have a manual and the little thing in the center of the shifter knob has come off too! Weird! Although I love the car those little things annoy the heck out of me!

    I'll see if it happens again. If it does I'll the dealer a call and have them fix it.

    Thanks for replying. Glad to know I'm not aging before my time!....lol
  • PF_FlyerPF_Flyer Pennsylvania Furnace, PAPosts: 5,854
    Going to rename this discussion to make it a more useful one for dash and instrumentation issues.

    MODERATOR
    Need help navigating? pf_flyer@edmunds.com - or send a private message by clicking on my name.
    Share your vehicle reviews

  • missyc1missyc1 Posts: 17
    YEP! it just happened again when I went to lunch. Jumped ahead 20 minutes! Calling dealership now! :mad:
  • tmajortmajor Posts: 1
    how do you feel about haveing this trip computer unlocked?? Do you think it is good for the car??
  • psypsy Posts: 122
    Why would it be bad? Its the same one as in the GT.
  • mazdrvrmazdrvr Posts: 103
    Its great having it! I'm so glad the poster of this thread shared the info! Its handy on road trip.
  • mj1986mj1986 Posts: 1
    JC,
    Forgive my ignorance here but I can't seem to locate the "set" button. I just bought an 08 Mazda3 S Touring with the optional 6 CD stereo system. The only "set" button I can see in the whole car is the set button for the cruise control. Am I missing something or did they get smart and delete the set button on the stereo.

    Jack
  • psypsy Posts: 122
    Mine is off by a fare margin. My scangage is almost right on.

    psy
  • psypsy Posts: 122
    See what the button next to the clock button does.

    psy
  • irismgirismg Posts: 345
    Is there a way to change the red lighting around the stereo and dash to another color? Does someone offer an aftermarket kit that someone could be paid to install in order to change it?
  • jc22jc22 Posts: 17
    Jack,

    From everything I have read on other Mazda forum sites, the unlock does not work for 2008 models.

    ~ JC
  • For those of you with the 08, it is possible to unlock the DIS. I have an 08 3i touring and was able to unlock to DIS. Follow the steps for the 07, but instead of just pressing the 'Set' button (:00 on the 08), you must HOLD the button down for approx. 5 seconds and release after getting the 'DIS ON' message from the unit. I also noticed that even though it is unlocked, I still have to press and hold the :00 button for ~5 seconds each time I switch from the clock to the DIS.
  • carbot1carbot1 Posts: 1
    I just got a 08 I touring MT

    I have attempted to follow the following instructions and not getting the DIS ON.

    1. Turn on radio, then turn off car
    2. Press and hold CD and AM/FM buttons (also have tried holding down the “:00” button)
    3. Start car while holding down buttons (have used car “on” and also started ignition)
    4. Have not received the "DIS ON" prompt, after holding for up to 30 sec
    5. Release CD and AM/FM button
    6. Press “:00” for 5 sec and cycle thru computer (have not gotten here yet)
    7. Turn off and restart car
    8. Press and hold for 5 sec “:00” to cycle thru computer

    Suggestions/comments?

    Thanks!
«134
This discussion has been closed.