Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!





Hyundai Azera 2008

11516171820

Comments

  • vikeavikea Posts: 7
    yes it is. go for a strut bar. but a good one. Luxon is what i found
  • mozartmanmozartman Posts: 19
    Hello all,

    I bought 2008 Azera Limited this Wednesday with 12,000 miles. And yesterday I noticed crack on dashboard. Should I call dealership or should I call Hyundai first? And I assume replacement will be covered by warranty, won't it?

    Thanks.
  • jkolehjkoleh Posts: 38
    Repair of crack should be covered under warranty and I would contact dealer directly. Had same problem with my 2007 Azera and was fixed by Delaler without any problems.
  • srk12srk12 Posts: 5
    Hi, i just bought 2008 hyundai azera that has single disc player and navigation. It is missing AUX port. The car does not have bluetooth connectivity either. Can someone advise me on a product that allows me to listen music and take call on an iphone? thanks
  • My solution was to burn MP3 CDs, 100 songs per disk, only the songs I like. So much better than one CD you keep popping in about . I change disks once a week at most.
  • This may seem ironic but a product that I use is a Garmin GPS with bluetooth & capability of storing songs & audiobooks & the ability to add an SD chip for additional storage. To get all of this you have to go to the Garmin 700 or 800 series. I think the 800 series is now discontinued, but I was able to find it new about 6 months ago. For your specific situation, this may be the answer.

    Even though I'm very happy with my Garmin, IN GENERAL, I can no longer recommend buying a GPS now that I have tried the Mapquest GPS which is free. I paired my iPhone with a BlueAnt bluetooth device & was pleasantly surprised at how well it worked on directions. It was almost as good as the Garmin in terms of turn anticipation but the Garmin had a more natural voice. I never look at the display when driving but as a passenger, Mapquest beats the Garmin & in-dash systems on 2 counts:
    1. the maps are ALWAYS up-to-date & you don't have to pay extra.
    2. you have the ability to pinch or expand the map almost instantly. When expanded, you will see features such as store names or points-of-interest that you won't see on the Garmin or in-dash system.
  • srk12srk12 Posts: 5
    I already have a spare garmin GPS system. it's old and doesn't have any of these options. I was looking at blue fusion products at bestbuy.
    I think there are two options:
    1. hooking up a cable to the back of the radio unit, the other end of it is a ipod cable. this way one can use navigation screen to browse ipod songs.
    2. there is a product that uses bluetooth to stream music and obviously you could take/make calls using the same product. I couldn't find this unit specifically made for Hyundai though.

    i will pay a visit to autozone to see if they got any options.
  • Hello SRK12 I am all about making my ride more pleasant with whatever technology is available. I found a factory installed system that has these capabilities offered in vehicles like camry generally run for 600 dollars, this is outrageous. Your local BestBuy will have a selection that of stereos that have all the features that you could ask for in Aux ports Sattelite radio USB plugs that connect to Ipods including music tagging as well as free HD radio for about half of that 600 dollars. Might I also suggest crutchfield.com there is an assortment of stereos available for around 150+free shipping if you are a do it yourself kind of person. Or if not the best bang for the buck and easiest thing you can do is order from Crutchfield buying a Kenwood, Pioneer, JVC, etc. and for 50 dollars Best Buy will do the installation for you. I hope this information is beneficial for you.
  • jamazerajamazera Posts: 149
    Can the 3.8 V6 in the Azzy be "reflashed" to achieve the performance numbers (hp and torque) for the 3.8 in the Genesis??? Same engine or different upper end and/or lower end internals??
    Thanks
  • allmet33allmet33 Posts: 3,557
    djh123...you're absolutely right! I have a 2006 Limited that now has in-dash DVD, aux input, usb input, SD card, built-in Bluetooth. I went with a Pioneer AVH-P3200BT and I love it. I supports iPhone & all MP3 players and I can even add a back-up camera to it if I so desire. There's also expandability to HD radio and nav (I just use my phone for navigation though). I spent $300 for the unit and did the installation myself. Another advantage to going with an aftermarket unit...better sound quality.

    Happy New Year to all!!!
  • srk12srk12 Posts: 5
    thank you guys...
    i just don't think it is a good idea to totally rip out the factory installed navigation system and install an aftermarket unit. i want to just add the ipod functionality and if possible bluetooth connectivity.
  • jamazerajamazera Posts: 149
    Where are the engine guys on this one??
  • Greetings All,

    On my 2006 Azera Limited with about 27,000 miles on it I’m hoping for some feedback on an occasional hard shift issue. Normally the car is only driven 10 miles a day to and from work no problem. But on longer trips have hard a few instances of hard shift.

    The first time this hard shift bump occurred was when I was driving on city streets 2 minutes after getting off the freeway after a 2 ½ hour drive. On a scale of 1-10 this was a #5 bump like feel followed by a #3 bump in the next few minutes while accelerating from a signal light. There were no further bumps that day, even after another 2 ½ freeway drive.

    The second time the #3 bump happened was on an on ramp after a 3 hour freeway drive and a short rest stop. No further bumps that day even after another 3 hour freeway drive.

    The last time this #3 bump happened was on a city street after a 45 minute freeway drive. No further bumps on the return trip.
    I’m not sure which gears this bump happens between.

    I have no MIL set. So I took it too a transmission shop and they could not find anything wrong but said there was a code C1616 CAN Bus Off Failure. His opinion was that this problem maybe an electrical issue. Has anyone ever had this shifting problem?

    Thanks
  • donniedonnie Posts: 24
    My wife owns a 2008 Azera Ltd. with about 46,000 miles on itand we've experienced exactly the same "bumps" under the same conditions you described, mainly after a long, freeway drive. This has happened only about 4 times over 3 yrs. of ownership, so we just let it go, happy that we still have over a year on the warranty.
  • allmet33allmet33 Posts: 3,557
    I own a 2006 Limited with almost 126K miles on it (all put on by myself). There were a couple of times early on that I had hard shifts happen and the re-flash took care of the problem.
    Have you considered taking the car in and getting the computer flashed? Sometimes, it wipes out any codes that could cause hiccups. The transmission on the Azera is supposed to be a "smart transmission", in that it learns the driving habits of the driver and adjusts accordingly. As with most computers, glitches come up that require a re-boot to get things back in order. Just a thought.
  • Thanks for the info regarding the flash. Do they do a certain flash, like transmission or ECU?
  • ratledgeratledge Charleston county, South CarolinaPosts: 233
    edited March 2012
    I have recently had the exact same thing start to happen, under almost identical circumstances: I drive about 130 miles home from my mother's house occasionally and the first 100 miles is exclusively 70mph interstate highway, and right after I get off the freeway I get a 'hard shift' during acceleration. (I'm pretty certain it's between 2nd and 3rd, but maybe 3rd & 4th gears.) Usually only one, although I think I remember it happening twice one time. My Azzy is a 2008 with over 120,000 miles on it (yep, I drive around 30K miles/year) and it's odd since I never have even a little glitch in the shift pattern going up or down.

    Reflash the computer module, eh? hmmm... I'm betting that's not covered once you're not under warranty any more, eh?
  • ratledgeratledge Charleston county, South CarolinaPosts: 233
    edited March 2012
    I recently had a CD hang up in my changer and somehow trying to find the 'right' button at night to get it to push the darned CD out I managed to activate the "All eject" function, which isn't in the manual (I don't think) but used by service technicians to unload all 6 CDs in one quick sequence.

    This all started to happen right after some moron hit me in the passenger side rear quarter panel - cutting it too close in a lane change, fortunately not at full speed, but around 45-50mph. I'm thinking the bump pushed one of the CDs outside the limits of where it's supposed to go, maybe? It would be nice if simply popping the radio on the side corrected the problem, but so far I haven't found the right cadence or slap to do it.

    At this point, I've got the darned stereo in what seems to be an eternal "All eject" mode - even if the car has been sitting for a few days as soon as you power on the radio it goes into that mode. The other minor problem is that the two 'guide LEDs' (on either side of the slot so you can easily find it at night) are constantly blinking at a slow rate - even during the day.

    Has anyone else seen this issue and if so, what was the resolution? Am I looking for a new head unit, I suspect? I haven't tried popping the fuse out yet, but I'm getting ready to do so. I'm hoping that will at least let me get back to using my XM and other over-the-air (or satellite) radio if I can't get the whole mess fixed easily.

    It has sat three or four days without even discharging the battery a little, so I'm not particularly concerned about that. Those two LEDs don't even show up during the day they are so dim, but - I suppose it could be an issue if I was out-of-town for a week, possibly...

    Just for extra credit, mine's a 2008 "Ultimate", which is why I posted it here in this specific forum.
  • ratledgeratledge Charleston county, South CarolinaPosts: 233
    The crack in the dash is over the right (passenger) side airbag, I'm betting? Exact same thing here at about 60,000 miles, fortunately just before. It was replaced under warranty and at 125,000+ miles I haven't seen even a hairline (yet). I suspect they found it in some of the KDM (Korean home market) models which are one year ahead of us in the rest of the world and beefed up the spot where the dashboard is supposed to pop when/if the airbags are deployed.
  • From what I understand in theory this hard shifting is caused by the Pressure Control Sensor/Solenoid increasing the transmission internal line pressure to keep the Torque Converter locked up on the highway. This high pressure then causes the first few shifts on the streets to be hard until this pressure is reduced. So, we just need to figure out if this is a Torque Converter, Pressure Control Sensor/Solenoid or Computer issue. Perhaps the tranny experts can give us some input.
  • ratledgeratledge Charleston county, South CarolinaPosts: 233
    Sounds reasonable to me. Cheap/easy solution - push the shifter to the right.
  • ratledgeratledge Charleston county, South CarolinaPosts: 233
    Well, replying to myself - not unusual.

    The answer is to pull the fuse for 10 minutes, otherwise it will drain your battery in about 3 - 4 days. Curiously enough, after doing so - the CD player works and switches CDs just fine...
  • Sounds reasonable to me. Cheap/easy solution - push the shifter to the right.

    In this shifter to the right position would we have to slap shift through the gears or would the ECU/transmission do that?
  • ratledgeratledge Charleston county, South CarolinaPosts: 233
    It will hold the gear longer, but shift before it damages the engine.
  • I decided I had to trade her in at only 39000 miles, despite having no injuries in a rear-end accident and loving the car. I couldn't take the low mileage driving in stop and go traffic around Washington DC during my busy tax season this year. My new 2013 Sonata Limited is fantastic.
  • What causes the "CHECK ENGIN" light to come on.
    I have a 2008 Azera V6
    Thanks,
    Jerry
  • Usually a sensor issue. Go by Autozone or Advance Auto and they will read the codes for you free of charge.
  • allmet33allmet33 Posts: 3,557
    Check Engine light can come on for a litany of reasons. From gas cap not on properly to a bad sensor. Mine came on around the 90K mile mark, I took it in and it was kicking back O2 sensor codes. So...as of right now, 1 of 4 O2 sensors is bad. Yes...you read correctly, the Azera (06's anyway) have a total of 4 O2 sensors.

    The shop I take mine to wants $125 per sensor, I can order them from RockAuto.com and pay $65/ea. Just a head's up.
  • Thanks, My Check Engin Light went out on its own after a few days.
    Hope it does not come back on.

    Jerry
  • penzfanpenzfan Posts: 12
    sometimes its just a piece of [non-permissible content removed] stuck on a sensor
Sign In or Register to comment.