Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Volkswagen Jetta Maintenance and Repair

Comments

• quadnutquadnut Posts: 5
    I just bought a 2000 Jetta GLS last week, and I love it. It's my second one. I had a minivan in between that I basically didn't maintain. This one I plan on going by the book. I do want to thank the person who posted the message about checking the oil. I need to add some! It seems like for as many horror stories you hear about certain cars...you hear more happy stories. I think that (as long as you don't have a lemon) if you take care of your car, it'll take care of you.
  • mtownsendmtownsend Posts: 26
    #269 of 272: Drivers Wanted? seems like Whiners Wanted.

I hope when your Jetta has problems you keep your thoughts to yourself.
    I do not fall into any of your suggested types, in fact I am just an ordinary driver who expects a car to work, I can tolerate minor problems. I never modify or even come close to 'beating the hell' out of a car. I clean the car every week and check it over at the same time.
    I am disappointed that you feel drivers with problems, cannot share them with other owners or potential owners. I thought that this is the idea of this forum.
    If you feel that 21 days without my car in 10 months is not whining, it is just unacceptable.
    I will list the problems so far with my Golf, just so you know what to expect with your new car.
    1. Window fell out of drivers door.
    2. Engine check light for misfire.
    3. Rear tailgate not lifting, replaced struts.
    4. Interior blower failed on cold day.
    5. 1qt oil consumed per 500 miles
    6. Engine control module failed.
    7. Erratic/hard shifting on automatic.
    8. Rear seat belt replaced twice.
    9. Temp gauge failed.
    10. Fuel pump relay replaced twice.
    11. Corrosion on contacts behind dash.
    12. White deposits on oil filler cap.(Water in oil)