Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Saturn VUE No Start

1235»

Comments

• I was driving in a rainstorm and all of the sudden my car started smoking from under the hood. I pulled over and some people assisted me and opened the hood and the fuse block was melting (smoking) a gentleman actually risked his life and disconnected the battery cables to stop the melting of the fuse box in the middle of the rain! does anyone know how much the fuse block would be to replace and the procedure after replacing it also has this happened to anyone else?
    I hope is not expensive since I am in my last semester of student teaching and have not had a job this whole year!
  • kingcatkingcat Posts: 13
    Please catch your breath after that nasty incident.

What happened to your Vue is a very unusual event. The fuse box caught fire because something shorted to ground.

Most electrical circuits are well designed and will trip a breaker or blow a fuse if shorted.

Saturn vehicles do not simply explode or do what you experienced.

How could this happen? My first guess would be the car would probably be
    classified as a total for insurance purposes.

Fuse boxes do not simply over heat without some one changing the fuse values or adding a un fused cable.

My suggestion is write that vehicle off and find a safer SUV. We owned Saturn's for 12 years and they do not have any electrical or mechanical problems. They are serviced as per the manufactures manual.

That car is ten years old. Saturn cars have a better reputation then a fuse box melting. Be careful who you have selected to repair that Vue. :sick:
  • bmioskiebmioskie Posts: 1