Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

VW Rabbit Basic Maintenance Questions

124»

Comments

• I have a 2007 vw rabbit. The first oil change I got on it I took it to the dealership and they used synthetic oil. After that I took it to big-o and they guy there told me I didnt need to use synthetic, so I haven't been. I've been driving it for 2 years and just recently when I went to start it, it made a horrible knocking and sputtering sound. I filled the fluids and that seemed to help, but I am being told by multiple people that because it is a vw I need to use synthetic for the car to work correctly. Is this true???
  • jeffyscottjeffyscott Posts: 3,855
    VW requires that you use oil meeting their specs. The only oils that meet these specs are certain synthetics. If you have the 2.5 engine, the oil needs to meet VW 502.
  • shiposhipo Posts: 9,152
    You believed some kid from Big-O over what is said in your Owner's Manual? Yikes! Long story short, VW requires not only synthetic oil, but synthetic oil that meets the VW 502.00 oil specification (which only a few top end synthetics meet). Unfortunately now it looks like you may have a large engine repair bill to pay for. :(
  • I'm thinking of buying a 2010 Golf. I know the maintenance is included until 36k. After that 36k, I'd like to take it to my mechanic instead of the dealership. Is it hard for an independent mechanic to get parts? When I had my Volvo, he couldn't always get the part I needed.
  • micwebmicweb Posts: 1,617
    The warranty is longer than the maintenance period. I strongly recommend you take it back to the dealer for the 40,000 mile service, which requires a spark plug change and brake fluid flush and runs $300-500, and for the 50,000 mile oil change ($90). After that, an independent shop that at least advertises that they work on VW's is highly recommended.