Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Hyundai Entourage Starting/Stalling/Idle Problems

2»

Comments

• Has any one experience during cold starts (car park for over 6 hours) during fast idle the rpm stumbles for a couple of seconds follow by a strange smell (black smoke smell ) then goes back to normal fast idle. once the engine reaches proper operating temp. it seems to idle about 600 rpm and just runs normal and just once in a while it drops rpm to 500, but the most strange thing is the check engine light does not light up for either event. I only have about 13,000 miles on the clock. i want to take it back but with out eh check engine light on, i dont know if they would be able to figure it out.
    any sugestions are welcome.
  • I'm new to the Entourage boards: I'm in the market for a minivan and doing some research. Anyway, I own an '06 Azera with the 3.8 and it does the same rattle for a minute or two after a cold start. The rattle gets worse the colder it is. It's not too noticeable in the summer, but it is now that winter is coming. My wife doesn't notice it ( the Azera is very quiet ), but I'm an old engine guy and I notice those sort of sounds.
    I owned an '01 Tahoe which was notorious for piston slap and the Azera rattle is the same. It's due to increased piston to cylinder clearance when the engine is cold, and until the piston expands with heat it rattles a bit in the cylinder. It is not a longevity or reliability problem, and is pretty much unfixable.
    BTW, I love my Azera, I've had it for 3 years and it's been back to the dealer only for oil changes - that's why I'm looking at Entourage.