Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!





Problems with Chevy Venture Gauges

We purchased a 2004 Chevy Venture 2 years
ago. I started experiencing problems with the temperature gauge about 5-6 mos. ago.
After replacing the thermostat,
we discovered that the gauge was sticking.
What I ended up doing was turning the ignition (not to fully turn over the
engine) but half way, then off.
I did this a few times and it dropped
the gauge to zero - problem solved. Now the speedometer is not working. I
was driving today and noticed that, while I know I
was doing at least 40 mph, the speedometer
showed 10 mph. Once I stopped and turned off
the engine and then turned it over and started
driving again, it somewhat fixed it, but it doesn't
seem to be working like it should. Anyone else having the same problems?
«13

Comments

  • The fule gaguge is not reading correctly. It only moves sligthly from full to 3/4 full???

    I was told the fuel pump and sending unit was about $500......
  • 442dude442dude Posts: 373
    You were told correctly - unfortunately its a somewhat common problem...

    I've heard that sometimes you can "fix" it by running Techron fuel additive in a few tankfuls in a row...I can't personally say yes or no, maybe I should try it and post back since mine does the same thing...that Techron stuff isn't cheap though...I'm just as content to reset the trip odometer and fill it up every 300 miles...
  • chaseschases Posts: 41
    Wait!!!!!!! Wait!!!!!!

    FIRST........ Check the harness plug that goes to the fuel pump/sender unit. The plug you want to check is located under the van about where the drivers seat is. The plug is a 9 or 10 pin plug. What went bad on mine was a couple terminals start shorting out and arcing giving you a bad connection.

    Un-plug the plug and clean the terminals as best as you can with electric cleaner, rough up the terminal surface with a very small wire brush and clean again. Before you plug it back together put some eletric greese on each terminal.

    I put in 4 fuel pumps/senders before I found this little gremlin.
  • travisgtravisg Posts: 10
    I have a 2000 venture I just bought and the gas gauge is either full or empty. The car dealer assured me the problem was the fuel level sensor on the fuel pump, so I had it changed but it did not fix the problem. Do you think it could be the harness plug that was mentioned earlier? I really dont want to spend $400.00 on a fuel pump I already spent$120.00 on the sensor. Please help!
  • 442dude442dude Posts: 373
    I have a 2000 Venture that does the same thing...I'm planning to check the harness plug when I get a chance...there are so many electrical gremlins in these things that I wouldn't be surprised...

    Thanks to the poster for the great suggestion about the harness...I know enough about the Venture to help others with their problems and its so great to learn new stuff!!!!! :shades:
  • travisgtravisg Posts: 10
    I tried cleaning the harness plug after I have changed the fuel level sensor and am still having the same problem. Is there any thing else I can try other than replacing the fuel pump? It sounds like this is a common problem can someone please tell me a sure fix? Thanks
  • travisgtravisg Posts: 10
    After changing the fuel level sensor , cleaning the harness plug, I tried the Techron fuel additive and almost immediately my gas gauge started to move. It was always either full or empty now it seems to be reading correctly. Who would have thought it would work! I wish I would have tried it sooner I would have saved some money! Give it a try .I will keep you posted.
  • 442dude442dude Posts: 373
    WOOOOOOOOOHOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!! :shades: :shades: :shades:

    As I understand it...the science behind it is that the fuel causes "varnish" on the level sensor and the Techron dissolves it...It was my post and I've never even tried it, only read about it.....headed to the auto parts store tomorrow....lets keep the rest of the world posted as to how we do !!! :shades: :shades:
  • travisgtravisg Posts: 10
    Just thought I would let you know that Walmart has the Techron additive and it is only like 4 something a bottle . Probably a lot cheaper than a parts store , hope you have success! :shades:
  • 442dude442dude Posts: 373
    Thanks...will pick it up there...I'll post back and let you know...keep us informed... :shades:
  • 442dude442dude Posts: 373
    I dumped in the Techron today...we'll see what happens.....
  • travisgtravisg Posts: 10
    well maybe we have jumped the gun a bit. Although my gauge is now registering other than full or empty,it is still bouncing around . I will keep you posted ,maybe after a tankful or 3 we will have good results!
  • 442dude442dude Posts: 373
    I'm going to do it 3 tankfuls in a row and see what happens...haven't driven it enough yet to expect it to move...if the theory holds correct and it is dissolving the varnish off of the sensor...perhaps at will take a little patience...I'm also going to put it in a little stronger for the second 2 tanks, i.e. if the bottle says treats 20 gallons, I'll try to have less than that in the tank when I dump it in....
  • 442dude442dude Posts: 373
    Found this TSB# on the web...thought it might be of interest....I looked this stuff up and the bottle even looks exactly like the Techron bottle....who knows??????

    GM Fuel System Treatment PLUS, Fuel Sending Unit Corrosion and Fuel System Deposits #05-00-89-078 - (Nov 9, 2005)

    2006 and Prior All GM Cars and Trucks

    2003-2006 HUMMER H2

    2006 HUMMER H3

    2006 and Prior Saturn (Canada Only)

    2005-2006 Saab 9-7X

    GM Fuel System Treatment PLUS
    GM Fuel System Treatment PLUS, P/N 88861011 (for U.S. ACDelco�, use 88861013) (in Canada, 88861012), is now available.

    Added Benefits and Uses
    The PLUS portion of GM Fuel System Treatment PLUS is the addition of a filmer additive that, when used regularly, can protect fuel system sending units from the corrosive effects of certain sulfur contaminants found in some of today's gasoline.

    Sulfur contamination can disrupt electrical continuity of certain fuel sending units and lead to erratic or false fuel gauge readings. With scheduled usage, GM Fuel System Treatment PLUS protects against the effects of harmful sulfurs in gasoline.

    You Get Four Benefits
    One bottle of GM Fuel System Treatment PLUS added to the fuel tank at each oil change:

    � Cleans -- Sulfur corrosion from fuel gauge sending units.

    � Prevents -- Harmful sulfur components from attacking sensitive fuel system electronics.

    � Protects -- By coating metallic surfaces of the fuel system.

    � Removes -- Engine deposits left from use of poor quality fuels.

    GM Fuel System Treatment PLUS will replace the original GM Fuel System Treatment, P/N 12345104 (in Canada, 89020804). The original formula may still be available for a limited time, and provides the excellent Fuel System Cleaning aspects of the new product without the filmer.

    Parts Information
    Part Number
    Description

    88861011 (for U.S. ACDelco, use 88861013)

    (in Canada, 88861012)
  • travisgtravisg Posts: 10
    I was just wondering would the fuel sending unit be the problem? I have already changed the fuel level sensor, is the sending unit the same as the fuel pump? I wouldnt think the fuel pump would be the problem it either works or it doesnt, right?
  • 442dude442dude Posts: 373
    I believe the level sensor and sending unit are the same part, 2 different names - don't have the book in front of me to be 100% sure

    you are right, pump either works or it doesn't.....

    Even on Chevron's website, one of the benefits of Techron that they list is that it frees stuck fuel level sensors....we'll see how we do...
  • travisgtravisg Posts: 10
    have you had any results yet with the techron ? I am on my second tank and things are the same. I was thinking if the techron is for cleaning the sensor in the tank then i am wasting my time cause my sensor is new.Do you think changing the whole pump would fix my problem?
  • 442dude442dude Posts: 373
    I'll be putting in the 2nd bottle this week...so far, stuck on full, little movement...still haven't given up hope (yet)

    Your sensor could still be fouled even though its been replaced...I don't think changing the pump will make any difference...I'm gonna do the 3 bottles in a row before I give up...for the 2ns bottle, I'm gonna let the tank run down a little first so the concentration is a little higher...I'll keep in touch!

    John
  • 442dude442dude Posts: 373
    2 Techrons - no changes :cry:
  • travisgtravisg Posts: 10
    I am on my third tank. I put 2 bottles in a full tank this time. My gauge is actually staying in one place for short periods but then moves drastically. I am not holding out much hope for this to work.Do you know anything about the power sliding door? I forgot that it was a power door and went to slam it shut,when i did it made a grinding noise. I stopped and pushed the button to finish shutting the door.The door came off the track but shut the rest of the way but did not latch all the way. I put it back on the track and tried to let it shut again the same thing happened. Can you please look in your book and see if there is some kind of adjustment for the cable or something and how do you access it? Thanks for any help you can give. : :confuse:
«13
Sign In or Register to comment.