Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

trying to find my old car

13»

Comments

• MrShift@EdmundsMrShift@Edmunds Posts: 43,647
    I think he was looking for the car, not the previous owners though.
  • If you find the previous owners, you have a good chance of finding the car.
  • I'm in the restoration business here in West Palm Bch. Fl., and I have been collecting old cars for many years. Hemmings Motor news is a good source, along with other websites. I just recently found this website called the Lost Car Registry. This is the best resource info I have found so far. The site is about 5 yrs old and growing... Abc news also did a story about this site. I attached both links at the bottom for everyone to share. On another note post your information on facebook.com on what you are looking for and join some of the clubs on there... Good luck

Website info
    http://the-lost-car-registry.com/

ABC news story
    http://abcnews.go.com/Video/playerIndex?id=4232618
    edited July 2011
    I wouldn't say a "good" chance at all. But at least you have a chance. Also you were incredibly lucky to have even found the original owner's name--this must be unique to Studebaker because all the factory build sheets I've seen just list the DSO or perhaps the dealer it was shipped to.

The rarer the car, the better your chances, oddly enough. Case in point, the story in the link about a lost car found---it was a very rare W code Fairlane.

People tend to hold onto, or at least preserve, rare and unusual cars. But as you say, a mass produced Camaro with the usual options is not likely to survive. And old 4-doors, practically never.

It really helps if you had the VIN. This allows you to check club registries and auction archives.
  • uplanderguyuplanderguy Kent, OHPosts: 7,358
    edited August 2011
    Here's a copy of the "Drive Away Shipper" for my old Lark: