Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Chevy Silverado and GMC Sierra Undercarriage Rust

12346»

Comments

• thingamabobthingamabob Member Posts: 3
     I owned a 2011 Sierra that I just sold off to a wholesaler. I got rid of it because of the excessive rust issues and how quickly it's accelerating.

The L/F strut rusted through at the bottom and lost all of its oil. I've been a mechanic for over 20 years and have seen my fair share of rust but I've never seen a strut rust through like that. How quickly that truck rusted away is shocking. Another example...I had a brake light bulb go out so I pull the tail lamp and there's nothing left of the bucket that holds the lamp in place. 

I was planning on keeping that truck for the long haul but that didn't work. Too much rust everywhere to make the repairs needed. If a brake line were to go, which would have been soon, I'd have to replace every caliper, every rubber line, the ABS module and the master due to the level of rust involved. There are no bleeders left, no flats left on any of the brake line fasteners and no way of just replacing the failed component without redoing the entire system. The same holds true for every other underbody component. 

If you own one of the trucks that's rusting away I'd suggest getting rid of it as soon as possible. 
  • rustyz71rustyz71 Member Posts: 1
    I own a 2002 sierra with all the same problems. Brake and fuel lines replaced. Tailgate and hood rusted. Doors and rocker panels both showing rust. Now the frame rusting and no end in sight. What do you do? Buy something new, what a shame. Are Ford and Dodge the same? That isn't the sad part, what really is bad is gm will not do anything!!!!!! No more gm products here.........
  • forresthforresth Member Posts: 34