Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!





2009 Subaru Tribeca

13

Comments

  • mycxmycx Posts: 7
    Just bought the Tribeca after lots of research and road tests. Had the Highlander, HiHy and CX-9 in my top picks. It is true that the Tribeca's third row is tighter than CX9 but it is usable. I carried 4 adults + my two kids (6 and 8) during the weekend and had no problems. I wanted the flexibility of a seven seater while avoiding to buy a fatter SUV.

    The below speak to a couple of the competitors vs the Tribeca. Road tests for the Tribeca put it first or second on almost all comparison. The author mentions the roominess as the only down side.

    http://www.popularmechanics.com/automotive/new_cars/4220226.html?page=3

    If your are looking for an occasional use of the third row like me, Tribeca is a sure pick.
  • mycxmycx Posts: 7
    Would like to know if anybody experienced the following. I had a demo/brand new Tribeca for the weekend and wanted to showcase the DVD to the kids while in the city (read multiple stops). Kids wanted to watch the entire movie and not start it all over again each time we stopped. However I was doing it each time I had to start the engine from scratch or from accessories- meaning the DVD was still running - the DVD stopped and the only thing that was coming back was the sound - no image. Then had to eject the DVD and start it from the beginning... Anybody can advise?
  • Hello ! Bob~,

    How is the Tribeca serving you? Is there any option you wish you would have included ??
    We are in the midst of finalizing pricing and woola a third dealer ---pops up with yet another deal ~~LoL. It is the end of the month and the C4C is over --so I suppose I shouldn't be surprised....
    I do understand that Subaru is very protective of their car line and guarentees ----related to customers adding equipment ---any added equipment -IS NOT covered by the Subaru warrenty.
    Any surprises on your end ---?? :confuse:

    ddarttr :)
  • There is an alternative to going to the dealer for a replacement rear blade on the new generation tribecas. It may first appear that the blade and arm are one piece but if you take a look, you'll see the wiper blade can be replaced and its actually quite simple. There may be other alternatives, but the Trico Exact Fit Rear Integral Blade at wipers123 online snaps right onto the special rear arm and looks like the factory original. Much cheaper than the dealer alternative. Comes with removal and replacement instructions too. Hope this helps.
  • I am thinking of purchasing an 2010 Trebeca. How well do you like it. What are it's pitfalls. What kind of mileage are you getting? I currently own an 07 AWD GMC Acadia. This is a great driving car with lot's of room, but is in the shop weekly with unresolved issues from poor quality. I will not consider a GM product again, ever!
  • ateixeiraateixeira Posts: 72,587
    Sorry to hear that.

    I just went to the DC Auto Show and saw a loaded up Traverse that stickered for $48 grand. :surprise:

    That's insane.

    Tribeca is a bit smaller, but we're on our 3rd Subaru and I don't even have a favorite mechanic because they're never in the shop and I change my own oil. :shades:
  • nickelnickel Posts: 147
    edited February 2010
    I had to change the blades, but couldn't find the right ones neither at Walmart or Pep Boys, when it occurred to me: Well, it's 29,000 miles, let me call the dealer. They change them (the fronts and back) as part of warranty. Another point for Subaru, and my dealer, Walser.

    My wife will change the Sienna, wants something fancier. I have not even mention Subaru, so when she picks a CX-9 or XC60 I could easily choose a sports car (STi?) when the lease is over in november.

    Btw, Tribeca is 18 mpg, consistently.
  • ateixeiraateixeira Posts: 72,587
    I like Mazda, don't get me wrong, I own a Miata, but there is no way, no how the CX9 is fancier than the Tribeca. If anything it's half a step down.

    We just went to the auto show and looked at all of these back-to-back, and the Mazdas left me a little disappointed. I don't know if it's that the 2010 models went through a bout of cost-cutting, or what. But look closely - none of the plastics are padded, the materials are cost conscious, and it didn't really stand out in any way vs. competitors.

    They are value-priced, and the CX9 is large-ish and among the sportier models of the class, but it's a step down from my 2007 Sienna, which at least has a padded dash.
  • nickelnickel Posts: 147
    Don't get meeee wrong! Today we did Round #1, the preselection. No way I would change my Tribeca for anything else.
    She decided (for good) that she needed the once a year used 3rd row seat, so our options were easy: The ones she didn't like (Highlander, Flex and GMs); the very expensive (Volvo, Audi), an the remainders: Pilot, Veracruz and CX-9.
    Curiously, she didn't like the MDX (2 years ago she liked), and hated the new Sienna.

    When she saw the Pilot, hated it (the exterior). Then she liked the Veracruz (because of the content) but disliked price. So at the end the CX-9 looks will be the option
  • ateixeiraateixeira Posts: 72,587
    The new Sienna's interior materials went one step down, also, for instance the dash is no longer padded. :(

    Before you rule out the Veracruz make sure you get real-world price quotes, as they sell way below list prices.
  • jojo38jojo38 Posts: 1
    I bought by Tribeca used and have the 05-06 Navi disc. This is embarassing to admit but in almost two years, I have not been able to get the navigation system to really work. I made the mistake or removing and re-inserting the disk and now my gps is stuck at a 16 mile radius and is pretty useless. Any ideas on how I can get help? Thank you! :mad:
  • aaykayaaykay Posts: 539
    Did you try contacting the dealer ? It may be a very easy fix. I believe when I had my Honda Odyssey's NAV system, after the DVD disc was inserted, it had to be pressed once again for the system to be fully "inserted". The Tribeca system might be slightly different but the dealer should be able to help with that.
  • pametzpametz Posts: 7
    I just purchased the new Version 5 in the hopes that it would overcome the flaws in the maps of earlier versions and the routing software algorithm. Unfortunately I can report that there is no discernible difference between the two versions where I live in NC. Therefore I assume that once again Subaru has simply done a POI update which costs almost $300. This same nav system is in the 2010 Tribeca models. However, Subaru advised that all other new models have shifted to a system supplied by Garmin. I have tried it and it works perfectly, just like my portable Garmin. Bottom line, don't waste your money on V5 unless you want a POI update.
  • rshollandrsholland Posts: 19,661
    edited July 2010
    However, Subaru advised that all other new models have shifted to a system supplied by Garmin.

    Garmin??? Please elaborate. What models are you referring to?

    I know Subaru will be introducing removable TomTom units in some 2011 Imprezas and Foresters, but these won't hit the market for several months.

    Bob
  • srx010srx010 Posts: 4
    Same problem here. Got the Version 5 and it can't find cities and takes you the wrong way. I have a $150 Garmin that works better. My question is why do we have to pay $300 for the POI update to fix a product that doesn't work.
  • ttentelhttentelh Posts: 46
    I just bought version 5. I have no problems at all. Actually I bought version 4 back in April and I called subaru to complaint about issuing 2 versions in 2-3 months and they reimburse me the full amount of version 4. So if everyone bought both versions from Kenwood just contact subaru and they will sent you your money back as soon as you fax them your receipts.
  • ttentelhttentelh Posts: 46
    make sure you set it to the city you are live in.
  • srx010srx010 Posts: 4
    ttentelh - thanks for the info. It turns out I have version 4 not 5. I live in PA. Yesterday I was traveling to Northern NJ and the system did not have Newton NJ in the system, so I could not put in the destination address.
  • ttentelhttentelh Posts: 46
    make sure you are under the correct region-state. Press the destination button and select your state on the left screen so the system loads the map of the selected area.
Sign In or Register to comment.