Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Acura RL

Comments

• tommyg29tommyg29 Member Posts: 4
    I get about 20 in town, and I got 27.5 on a 600 mile round trip over the Thanksgiving holiday, doing 75-80 mph.
  • sullyaksullyak Member Posts: 30
    Pearl,

I am considering the Acura RL and the GS300. You touched on two of the biggest factors for me, head room and road noise. I am 6'2", will I be comfortable in both cars? Is the GS quieter than the RL? Do you know of any quieter AWD sedans?
    Thanks
  • pearlpearl Member Posts: 336
    I am not an expert on the dimensions or road noise of either vehicle; however, have driven both (and my comments are echoed by others) and this is what I think: both are great cars that most people would be happy to own. The GS is definitely (subjective) quieter inside - less road, wind and engine noise; however, it also seems to have less overall interior room, especially head room. Some relatively tall people have said that it has enough head room for them, so perhaps the issue is more the length of one's torso rather than legs or overall height. I am 5'11 and my head is within a quarter inch of the roof in a GS with the seat all the way down. On the RL, some have said that the tires are the main culprit in terms of generating road noise - maybe, but my experience has been that Hondas of any type tend to be noisier than Toyotas of any type. The Infiniti M gets kudos all around except for road noise and gas mileage - both of which might be improved by a six speed transmission to lower rpms while cruising on the highway. It seems that nearly all the LPS sedans are quite good, but all seem to have one or two small negatives that people have commented on - and - which could probably be fixed relatively easily for 07. Happy New Year!
  • satiresatire Member Posts: 71