Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Toyota Solara

Comments

• toyotatoystoyotatoys Member Posts: 118
    The wear and tear on tires is much more related to driving habit. I know of a friend who changes tires around every 20K on his Maxima. I usually change the tires on my Lexus SC300 around every 35K, which is very good considering that this vehicle uses relatively soft tires (93H Rating). I changed the tires of my Seqouia at 55K. My 06 Solara is only one month old, so I have nothing to say about it. I am a relatively cautious driver.

The bottom line is that 17K for your tires is awfully low. You will need 6 changes to make 100K. Yes, sometimes the tires can be bad too. But for four of them wearing out at the same time, it's not likely to be a tire defect.
  • 2k1trd2k1trd Member Posts: 301
    Typical Bridgestones...my 04 has about 8k on them and they are half gone!
    Also the ones on my previous 2000 Solara did not last either.
    Now you're getting me worried. My month-old Solara has Bridgestones also. It has 1500 miles now, and I guess 15,500 more miles to go.... Anyone has a suggestion for a replacement? I might need a set of 4 in 10 months.
  • ecampanoecampano Member Posts: 1
    I have a '99 solara and after 6 sets of tires I have finally found some that will last. I got my car with 23k on it, I replaced the bridgestone's within 1k of purchasing the car. My dad couldn't believe the lousy mileage so I went for an expensive set of Michelin tires. Those may have lasted 15k miles. So walmart replaced them at a prorated price thinking it was the tires malfunction. I have now gone through 3 sets of those. On the 4th set walmart decided to give me Goodyear's for the prorated price. So far those have make it the longest and I have now had them over 20k.
    So your best bet might be Goodyear and buying them at walmart. You can't bet their return policy.