Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Saab 9-5 Sedan

1383940414244»

Comments

• urb1urb1 Member Posts: 2
    We own a 2005 9-5 with apprx 35K miles. The car runs great, but on multi-hour highway driving, the check engine light comes on. After a couple days, the light will go out by itself. It has done this half dozen times. By the time I have gotten to the dealer to have it checked, the light goes out and they tell me they cannot diagnose until it comes back on. Any ideas as to cause? Is the dealer's statement correct?

Thanks
  • crestonavecrestonave Member Posts: 209
    The response you got from the dealer doesn't make any sense to me. I'm not a mechanic, but my understanding of how these systems work is that when a "check engine" light goes on, a trouble code is stored in the computer, which the dealer (or anyone else who knows how to do it, actually) ought to be able to access with his diagnostic equipment. You might even want to poke around the internet a little and look for guidance on how to retrieve the code yourself. Some cars allow you to do that; I'm not sure Saab is one of them. Again, I'm not a mechanic, but my understanding is that "check engine" generally refers to emission system problems and not to major mechanical problems. Again, you should verify this with a dealer or other qualified mechanic. Hope this helps.
  • urb1urb1 Member Posts: 2
    I just drove my daughters 2005 9-5T sedan, and I feel some kind of click or knock in the steering wheel. Can feel it when idling at a stop and turn the wheel back and forth just a couple inches. Also can feel when steering around a curve, like getting off a highway exit. It does not feel 'right' to me, and I will be taking the car back to have it checked. Car only has 37K and is still under warranty...we'll see what kind of reply I get.
  • saaburbanitesaaburbanite Member Posts: 2