Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!
Options

BMW 3-Series 2005 and earlier

Comments

• Options
    kdshapirokdshapiro Member Posts: 5,751
    ksso - sorry you took it the wrong way, I did put a smiley at the end in an attempt to make humor out of an aggravating situation. (I do not find your situation amusing, what I find amusing is the amount of damage that can be caused to these vehicles at 2mph) While it is as aggravating as heck, I have some other type of experience with a mismatch between a bumper and street object in my house that needs to get fixed, so I am in the same boat - wondering how many thousands it is going to be.

It's never fun, but you really have to think that most modern day bumpers were designed to protect the car, and it seems all too common that hooking them from underneath, or hitting them just right will cause a lot of other type of damage.
  • Options
    gordonwdgordonwd Member Posts: 337
    Looking thru the owner's manual in advance, I see several features that go along with whichever key is used "to open the car". Does this work if the car is already unlocked? That is, if I press the unlock button on the key when the car is already unlocked, will the seat move to my preset location, etc.?

The obvious reason that I ask is that my wife and I most often switch cars when they're parked in the garage and are unlocked. But if I could press the button anyway and restore the seat position it would be helpful since my wife's seat position is almost too far forward for me to even get in comfortably.
  • Options
    ksomanksoman Member Posts: 683
    it actually does work on my wife's 04 irrespective of whether the car is locked or not. the key memory is really tied to the time when the key is physically pulled out of the ignition rather than whether it was locked or not... atleast for 04's... so i think you are cool.
  • Options