Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Lexus ES 300/ES 330

Comments

• lievliev Member Posts: 93
    It was funny- I mean about your and your wife's C's. Anyways, mine is a 2001, that's why I tried to ignore that problem and thought it was just me. I'll bring my car in to the dealer this Wed.
  • sddlwsddlw Member Posts: 361
    I wouldn't expect the ES300 to be as peppy as the latest Acura CL or TL are, but it sounds like you've got a probelm. I'm not a mechanic, but I think it could be any number of things including the fuel line or the electronic igition module. Does it do the same thing if you put the transmission in the 3 position (or turn off the overdrive in the newer models?) Does a couple of tanks of premium gas help?
    are you talking about when the transmission is in its third gear? I can feel it every time the car changes its gear. Never try to turn the OD off 'cause I don't even know where the problem is or what it is either. I always use Exxon or Amoco 93, even in my old cars. I'll update with you guys later after I bring my car in to the dealer this wed.
  • turbotcturbotc Member Posts: 163
    I honestly don't think you have any problems whatsoever. Our 99 ES300 and 00 Mercedes "hesitate" a little when you punch the accelerator as well. Half like a half second, it takes off. But let's see what your dealer says.
  • rickc5rickc5 Member Posts: 378
    You may be unknowingly invoking your traction control, if you are "stomping" on the gas pedal. If the traction control detects wheelspin, it brakes the spinning wheel(s), which feels like someone threw out an anchor.

Try switching off the traction control and see if that makes any difference. Otherwise take the car to the dealer.

My '97 ES accellerates promptly from a stop, provided I have good traction.