Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Mercedes-Benz C-Class Sedans

Comments

• weberamgweberamg Member Posts: 43
    If you want to find a message board dealing with cars having problems, try the Porsche 928 site that I've been participating in for the last 6 years (I owned 2). I know they're not new cars, but the problems aren't covered by warranty, either. But, the people bitched, fixed the problems and got back to driving and enjoying their cars. In that case, the rewards of driving a 928 far outweighed the problems.
    VW's record is not something to win J.D. Powers' award, and I'm a VW fan. About a year ago, I steered my sister away from considering a new Honda Civic to a new Jetta. During the process, I showed her the Town Hall Jetta sight so she could read the various messages. Big Mistake. So I had her drive both cars. She's not a car person, but immediately fell for the Jetta, even with it's less than glorious reliability discussed on the T.H. site.

I guess it all depends on what your priorities are. No car gets a 10 in all categories, regardless of the magazine reviews.

Of course, after saying all that, I'll probably be in Lemon Law litigation with my C240, 6 months after it arrives ;-)

John W.
  • scooteroooscooterooo Member Posts: 5
    My point is not that VW Passat is more reliable...but that simple fact is there are too many problems showing up for a car that costs this much no?

Those that say this board is a lightning rod for such posts, need to go check the VW Passat site and numerous others that don't have as many.

Just as Zmeenows post says that others are problem free, that is indeed true, I don't doubt that...but I do wonder about a new car going dead while driving or keys not working all of the sudden...that is a *Very Serious* problem that DOES NOT usually occur on a repetitive basis with other cars....