Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

BMW 3-Series Maintenance and Repair

Comments

• bdr127bdr127 Member Posts: 950
    I'm no expert, but it kinda sounds like a transmission issue.... Do you hear any light grinding sounds when you're "lugging"? Check the transmission fluid to see if you have any burned fluid as a result...
  • shiposhipo Member Posts: 9,148
    I believe that gordonwd drives a stick. Then again, maybe I just dreamed that somehow. :confuse:

Gordon: I'd be inclined to have your engine codes looked at, hopefully it's thrown a code that will help better diagnose the problem.

Best Regards,
    Shipo
  • tjutju Member Posts: 20
    Both my xenon headlights (low beams) flash off and back on in a fraction of a second, more or less at random. At first I thought that it happened when I hit bumps, but now I see it happening when the car is stopped, too. I took it to the BMW dealership, but the lights wouldn't flash for them! Has anyone else seen this headlight behavior?
  • rjorge3rjorge3 Member Posts: 144
    Hi there, as a current owner of a 2005 Audi A4, I want to get you guys input and your experiences in your BMW 3 series.

When my lease experies, I sworn that I will never ever go back and lease/buy another Audi. As happy as I am with the way the car handles and its beautiful interior, I will never want to experience its unreliability again. The car has been in the shop four times since Jan 11, 2005. Plus the service department (in my opinion) its the worst I have encountered.

I am considering the 330i for my next car, but I want to hear from existing owners that have had issues with their cars. Are you happy with the overall reliability of the car? What about the service dept, are you satisfied with the way they have treated you?