Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Mazda Protegé

Comments

• mazda4lifemazda4life Member Posts: 1
    Hello folks, I'm new to this town hall. I recently bought a 2001 Mazda Protege ES. I love it! I'll elaborate on it later on. I recently got my windows tinted, I live in San Antonio, Texas, because its HOT down here. I wanted to put my 2 cents into the conversation. I choose to go with FormulaOne tint, but SolarGaurd is a tint I've used in the past as well. I got mine done at Custom Sounds and I'm pretty pleased with the results. I choose the high performance film over the dyed film (not recommended, low quality, only 3 year warranty), and the all metallic film (would have gotten it but too expensive and does not come in dark enough color). It cost me $131 after $20 off coupon found in the back of the yellow pages. Tinting is pretty reasonable down here. The sides are 35% (Darn state law), but the back is 15% and so is the eye brow. It makes the tint look darker than it really is. It makes a huge difference in driving conditions, no glare. I think the best suggestion I have for all out there is go with a major brand of tint (look at the web site TintDude), don't get the dyed tint (cheapest one), and shop around. Also pay attention to how the people are at the shop. Is is a back alley shop or a legit shop, etc. Look for coupons too, especially at the back of the yellow pages. Also, no one down here would tint my sunroof. They told me that the glass is of a different material than the rest of the car and if tinted it will absorb enough heat to cause it to expand enought to crack. Well I've said plenty. Oh, yeah, go as dark as possible without going Limo dark (overdoing it), you'll love it. Alright folks, talk to you later.

Peace Y'all!
  • maltbmaltb Member Posts: 3,572
    I won't second guess his motives, I was just calling a spade a spade.

:)