Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Ford Explorer Mercury Mountaineer 2005 and earlier

Comments

• fmotafmota Member Posts: 2
    Bought a 2003 mountaineer 6 months ago (V8). Recently I noticed some oil spots on the driveway, maybe an inch or 2 in diameter. However, the spots are not towards the front end......they appear to be right by the rear wheels. Almost in the center, betwen the 2 rear wheels. Lets just say I'm not a mechanically inclined person whatsoever.....but I normally try n search on the interner to atleast get some idea of what the problem maybe....so when I take the care for repairs, I have some background info so to not get totally taken by the mechanic. Any ideas/suggestions would be greatly appreciated....thanks !
  • imszimsz Member Posts: 2
    My 2004 Mtnr has 42,500 miles on it and I just took it in to the dealer because the Service Engine Soon light went on.

The dealer called me to tell me I have lots of problems - some of which seem really odd. Maybe some of you can help me understand what all this means.

1) Carbon BuBuild up which, according to the dealer, is usually what you find in cars driven by elderly folks who drive one a week for an hour at 15 miles per hour. I do city driving every day at usually 10 miles over the speed limit, so 35 mph. Also, approximately 15K of the 42K mileage is from long distance driving. So my question is, is this some kind of baloney because I am a a woman who knows NOTHING about cars?

2) Air Induction Dirt - what is this? Do I need to care about this? Do all cars have this?

3) The Number 8 Fuel Injector has simply failed. Why would one injector fail? Is this (often) an indicator that other injectors will fail? That there will be future problems with this vehicle.