Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Jeep Grand Cherokee Maintenance and Repair

Comments

• ronbo42ronbo42 Member Posts: 1
    Im new to this stuff, but I don't know where else to go.. Our 2002 JGC keeps misfiring especially between 50-65 mph. The whole car shakes. Our OBD sensor says misfire cyl 3. My husband changed all the plugs and also switched the wires between 3 and 1. Then it said misfire 1 and 3. I took it to a shop and the guy tested each cyl and said they are all working ok, but just not working together. ?? Please help.. I dont have a decent jeep dealership near me, and the shop guy said Im ruining my cat converters every time i drive it like this. My husband had had a lot of jeeps and hes stumped too.. :cry: tired of paying people to tell me misfire cyl 3!!
  • kikijeepsterkikijeepster Member Posts: 1
    I have a 2004 jgc that I bought brand new, and I started experiencing the same thing shortly after I got it. Periodically and randomly it would be "stuck" in first and the only way I could stop the revving was to drop it into neutral and make my way over to the side of the road. After a try or 2 I'd be able to get going again. It took two trips to the dealership to get it fixed, but it has not recurred since. I'll look at my paperwork tonight and see what they say they did to correct it. The only problem I had after that (and I'm knocking wood) is that the engine wouldn't start...dealer said the computer wasn't recognizing the Drive position...quick fix was to start it in neutral, finally got that fixed, too. :)
  • lagulagu Member Posts: 3
    I have a 1999 JGC limited V8. I got one keyless remote wich works fine. I got another remote from a co-worker and I'm trying to program it. Does anyone know how to program these remotes? I'll apreciate your input.
  • blanksterblankster Member Posts: 29