Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Low End Sedans (under $16k)

Comments

• alg7alg7 Member Posts: 3
    I'm not a car expert by any means; if they start, get to and from work, and need minimum garage time to keep going, call me a happy camper. I'm on the verge of overriding my gut feeling to distrust low priced cars with tons of toys, and popping for an Elantra GT. Gotta commute 1.5 hours in LA traffic; anyone have any experiences that would make me think twice before choosing this car? Price is not a major consideration. Also thinking about an Accord, Mustang, Solara and G20. Any input is welcome.
  • coolguyky7coolguyky7 Member Posts: 932
    The Solara is an excellent car. My dad bought a 99 SE V6 model in February 1999. It now has 105,000 miles on it as he drives at least an hour each way to work every day. It has had absolutely no problems. The timing belt looked perfect, but was replaced at 90,000 miles. He loves the car and wouldn't even consider a new RAV4 or even a Camry just because it drives so well and is very comfortable. I must admit, it does ride very well...and pricing doesn't appear to be that bad either. Good luck choosing!
  • lawman1967lawman1967 Member Posts: 314
    With the list given, I too would suggest the Solara (or a standard Camry if four doors are important), or to save some money, a Corolla. The Accord and G20 should also do as well.

It really depends of course on what you want. If you just want a quiet place to sit in traffic, without worrying about future breakdowns, any midsize Japanese nameplate vehicle should do. If you don't value serentiy so much, a Japanese nameplate compact would do equally well, not to mention save money at purchase, insurance and filling time.