Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

CR-V vs Escape

Comments

• hondaman02hondaman02 Member Posts: 250
    Baggs, I strongly doubt that Honda will not take it seriously that they are getting beat with sales! They did with the Taurus and now look at the sales for the Accord! Competition has a funny way of causing change and I don't believe Honda will allow its baby (CRV) to be beat.
  • diploiddiploid Member Posts: 2,286
    baggs- Honda doesn't have the capacity to build that many CR-V's. Even at its best, the last generation CR-V only sold ~150,000 units per year.
    I am no mechanic but it would seem (from what I have been told) that that little fussy light can come on for MANY reasons and usually it has something to do with the emissions system. I had this happen to me about 7 years ago with a Hyundai Sonata I rented (yes I have rented them as well) and it was only because the computer felt there was too much emissions escaping from the catalytic converter!!! Go figure. 90% of the time, it is an easy fix.

I was only repeating what she told me the dealer fixed.
    Diploid.....I think you are right. Honda does not build more than 150000 units but that should be verified.
  • baggs32baggs32 Member Posts: 3,229
    diploid,

The Escape only accounts for about 70-75% of KC's output. That comes out to about 175,000 Escapes and 75,000 Tributes. Anyone know where I can find real production numbers? These are all based on articles.

As someone else made mention of, what should be more amazing to everyone is how a brand new model/design is only outselling one that is two years old by only 6596 units (based on YTD at the end of July 2002 http://www.autosite.com/editoria/asmr/svsuv.asp ).