Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Can I just change grades of gasoline?

tonfadatonfada Member Posts: 1
edited March 2014 in Toyota
I am NOT a mechanic by any means, so please stay with me.
Since day 1, I have been feeding my Toyota Corolla (in the year of 1999, and I bought the brand new one.) with super gasoline (93), and I didn't realize that the car only needed regular gasoline (89) to run until last week. To save money on the gasoline, can I just switch the gasoline from 93 to 89? Or is it ok to switch it to regular gasoline? If ok, what do I have to do particularly to avoid any problems? Please let me know... Thank you.

James

Comments

• Mr_ShiftrightMr_Shiftright Member Posts: 64,481
    Actually 89 octane is not "regular", it is often marketed as some type of mid-grade. Most regular I've come in contact with, on the West coast anyway, is 87 octane, which may not be enough for your car.

But sure, just put in what the manufacturer says, no problem, and save yourself some money, too.
  • zueslewiszueslewis Member Posts: 2,353
    check your owner's manual and follow the recommendation. Using anything but what is recommended does nothing for your car, only deflates your wallet.
  • arkainzeyearkainzeye Member Posts: 473
    i have the same car as you.. i have only used 87 octane. When i was in college i had a instructor that told me a story about his brother going to Penn State for chemical Engineering. and they had a lab project on gasoline. To make a long story extremely short. there was no real difference in the higher grade gasoline. Now if you have a high compression engine. "which you dont" then i could maybe see using 93-94 Octane. but other than that you'r just wasting money. i used high octane in my corolla and seen no difference in proformance. and the same thing went for my chevy tracker, ford rangers etc etc/