Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Audi A6 Maintenance and Repair

Comments

• jsaatyjsaaty Member Posts: 2
    Paul,

Did you figure out this problem? I have a 2005 A6 4.2 and it has had a vibrating/grinding noise that begins at 40MPH and has been occurring for 10 months. Recently, when I am going slightly uphill the entire car shudders. That includes the steering wheel, dashboard, gearshift, all of it. This has happened across 2 sets of tires which have been balanced 3 times because the dealer(s) cannot figure out the issue at all.

I live in Northern Virginia and have had the car in to HBL like 6 times. They eventually said that the problem just cannot be fixed and gave me some mumbo jumbo about "harmonics" of the exhaust system. That was before the noticeable shuddering started.

Now, I'm not a car expert, but this happens when the car is in "D"rive. Yet when I change it to the "S"port mode right in the middle of the vibration and at the same speed, it goes away. In fact, I don't hear it in sport mode. So I have to believe there is an issue with the transmission or drivetrain. The shuddering is ridiculous. Everyone who gets in the car notices it and can't believe the dealer won't take the time to fix it.

I have then taken it to another dealer, Audi of Rockville in Maryland. They had it for the day yesterday and said that they could not find the problem or recreate it. But it happens all of the time on a slight to moderate uphill at 35 MPH plus (that's when the noticeable shuddering begins). I really don't know what to do at this point. The forums say that Audi Customer Care is terrible. I bought the car in February of 2005 so I don't think I have any recourse on lemon law. Let me know what you found!!!

John
  • gabby10gabby10 Member Posts: 32