Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Nissan 300ZX, all models

124»

Comments

• hpmctorquehpmctorque Member Posts: 4,600
    I'm not a mechanic by any stretch, but replacing every gasket may be preemptive overkill. Maybe a more reasonable plan would be to try to determine which gaskets are leaking first, how badly they're leaking, and go from there. However, I'd go with Shifty's advice on maintenance and repair matters.

Anyway, congratulations on your purchase. I've owned a '88 300 ZX for a number of years. From my experience, and mine has 183,000 miles on it, these are very well made, quite low maintenance cars. Good luck with yours.
  • Mr_ShiftrightMr_Shiftright Member Posts: 64,481
    I think it's the simple things that cause the most breakdowns. A few tiny oil leaks are no big deal and generally not worth the effort on older cars. If you lift the car and see a huge oil wash from the oil pan to the differential, you know you have an oil leak that's worth fixing. But if you have a few localized drips here and there, I wouldn't bother at this point.

Iffy brakes are not good, so check the pad thicknesses and the condition of the rotors. Again, if you see funky brake fluid in there, flush it out and bleed the system. Check the condition of the brake hoses at the calipers. Soft hoses will bulge when braking, causing a loss of brake pressure. Also look for cracks in the hoses---that's dangerous.

So keep the "pre-emptive" to the simple but important parts of the car---the hoses, belts, brake pads---and a general tightening up.

You can also check the water pump for looseness and leaks, and give the battery a good look, for corroded cables or low electrolyte levels.
  • willynale16willynale16 Member Posts: 5