Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Honda Extended Warranties Pricing and Info

Comments

• mitzijmitzij Member Posts: 613
    Car insurance and service contracts are different. Completely different. If you don't see the differences, I'm not going to repeat myself yet again and spout them off.

Service contracts are the same, whether they be on Hondas or on GM vehicles. I've never said I was an expert. I just know how service contract companies work, what repairs go through my shop, and how often people get measurable benefit out of their service contracts. I have useful information, which I have shared many times on this site. If the pundits are right, and Hondas are more reliable than Chevies, then my experience is even more useful. The rarity of a Chevy owner getting benefit of a service contract should indicate a Honda owner's benefit would be much more rare and unusual.

Your challenge was a load of hot air, but you're welcome to give your money to whomever you wish. Just don't cry to me when you end up trading your car off in two years, forget to submit for your refund until the 30 or 60 day limit is gone, then figure out you've wasted your money.
  • jet10000jet10000 Member Posts: 656
    It clearly proves the point that, on average, you will LOSE money on EW's.

Honda Care makes a profit for providing a service. Just like ANY good business makes a profit for selling a good or service.

On average you lose money on car insurance. So why buy that? Why buy any insurance? Why not take the premiums from all of your insurance and put it in a bank account.

The reason is that the premiums cover the value of somebody assuming future risk for you. A fact the Consumer Reports articles never mention.

You pay a small fee up front in exchange for that service no matter what kind of insurance or extended warranty you buy. It's the same exact principle.