Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

2013 and earlier BMW 3-Series Prices Paid and Buying Experience

Comments

• jrosasmcjrosasmc Member Posts: 1,711
    I've noticed through my many years of observing and driving BMW 3-Series cars that on the 1992-99 generation (E36), the front windows on the coupes and convertibles move down about 1/4 of an inch when the doors are opened. This happens only when the windows are in the fully closed position. Notice it? I've seen the same feature on the Porsche Boxster before.

Now, do the 1999-05 (E46) coupes and convertibles have their front windows do that, as in the E36? I'm just wondering because I have limited experience with the E46 series- I've only driven the sedans.
  • paulepaule Member Posts: 382
    The M3s do so I would bet the regular E46 coupes and convertibles will as well.
  • glakerglaker Member Posts: 49
    Last year when I did the Susan Koman Breast Cancer drive, all the staff were buzzing about the 330 with the performance package. I drove it (twice, in fact) and came away with a huge smile on my face. It was much more fun than driving anything else on the BMW roster except for the 545 (Which is waaay more expensive). Bottom line is I bought one a few months later and got a great deal. Every time I drive it I wear an ear to ear grin. It was even a good performer in the upstate NY winter when shod with 4 snows. The only thing you need to be prepared for is a very harsh ride with the 18" wheels and low profile summer tires. If the roads around you are full of pot holes, you might want something with a little softer suspension. It all depends on the roads and your driving style. Good luck with your selection!
  • kyfdxkyfdx Moderator Posts: 236,586
    Yes..they do... also the Z4..

Edmunds Price Checker
    Edmunds Lease Calculator
    Did you get a good deal? Be sure to come back and share!

Edmunds Moderator