Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

BMW 3-Series 2006

Comments

• gordonwdgordonwd Member Posts: 337
    Here's another flash for you: the new coupe will have plastic front fenders -- just like my kid's Saturn! ;)
  • bdkinnhbdkinnh Member Posts: 292
    >"The gearbox uses a dedicated electronic control unit that permanently monitors the position of the gas pedal"

Actually, that kind of pushes me more towards a manual (which doesn't require much of a push, to be honest). I'm a programmer, so I know how much can really go wrong with code. ;)

I'd rather have my feets, brain, butt and gut making the choices... but that's just me.
  • blueguydotcomblueguydotcom Member Posts: 6,249
    Take a look at audi's DSG. That's the only tranny other than a straight manual I will consider.

BTW, how does this tranny help with downshifting before turns? I'm often heel-toeing (actually in the current e46/e90 it's more rolling my foot on the brake and throttle at the same time with my foot perpendicular) before corners - makes the exit heaven.
  • nkeennkeen Member Posts: 313
    Is the Audi's DSG the same unit as that in the new GTi? If so it's very impressive: much, much faster and more accurate than I could ever hope to be with the traditional manual. However, it gives a slightly video game quality to the driving experience. At the end of the drive I felt less satisfied than with the traditional transmission, and I think that, day to day, the transmission would end up in auto mode much of the time.
  • owner6owner6 Member Posts: 89
    Is it really plastic? Or is it composite My Camaro has Composite and it works fine. BTW the the SR-70 and some of our other recon aircraft are Composite and scream through the Atmosphier and take a beating.

owner6 ExUSAF
  • corvettecorvette Member Posts: 10,257