Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!
Options

Subaru Legacy/Outback 2005+

Comments

• Options
    dudleyfdudleyf Member Posts: 10
    I have never noticed that type of behavior and I am a fairly aggressive driver. I will try it and see how my car responds.

Aggressive alone doesn't do it. I've never experienced this when accelerating hard from a dead stop. It seems to be that unique combination of circumstances where you are cruising at some speed fast enough to be in 5th, then begin slowing down to 10-15 mph, then punch it again.

It just appears to dumbfound the transmission for a second or two, and of course, with drive-by-wire, it holds the gas off too while it thinks it over. Once it decides what to do it takes off like a bat out of heck. It's just those two seconds where it does nothing that are kind of frustrating.

Oh, the car has almost 6k miles on it now, so I'm confident it's not still "learning" us.
  • Options
    ateixeiraateixeira Member Posts: 72,587
    Forester is a bit smaller and feels a bit more tossable. The cargo area is very upright, good for boxy items.

The Legacy is more refined and comfy. The cargo floor is much bigger, but the area isn't as tall.

I'd pick a Forester for city use, a Legacy for highway stretches.

-juice
  • Options
    dudleyfdudleyf Member Posts: 10
    Situations like that are one reason we have 3 cars for 2 drivers. Great to have a spare car.

Couldn't agree more. Since we got our `07 Outback Bean the wife has been pestering me to sell my `99 Maxima SE, oldest of our three cars w/160k. I refuse to though; it still runs great, is a nice convenience to have a 3rd car, AND it's the only one I have left with a manual tranny!
  • Options
    lilengineerboylilengineerboy Member Posts: 4,116