Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Volkswagen Jetta 2006+

Comments

• ksmith3ksmith3 Posts: 2
    I own an '06 2.0 Turbo - looking for info on changing the oil myself. Where is the housing for the oil filter cartridge located? What wrenches do I need to remove the oil filter?
  • I have a 2006 Jetta 2.5L, Blue Graphite, with Package 2, which I am totally in love with! But I have some questions:

When the outside temperature is below 40 degrees, the temperature display flashes and makes the 'ding' sound. Do any of you know why it does this?

The manual says to check the oil after every refuel. Is this really necessary? I've never done this on any car I've owned before and never had any oil trouble. But then I've never owned a VW before...

Do any of you know where the audio amplifier is in the car? I have the 10 speaker, cd changer, serius sat., non-navigation version.

Thanks!
  • ivan_99ivan_99 Posts: 1,669
    Most VW’s & Audi’s (think BMW’s have this as well) I’ve driven have the snowflake (and ding sound) when the temperature gets close to freezing…just as a warning that let’s you know to be careful.
  • robr2robr2 BostonPosts: 7,877
    When the outside temperature is below 40 degrees, the temperature display flashes and makes the 'ding' sound. Do any of you know why it does this?

The snowflake will appear when the outside temp is between 23 and 39 degrees - that's when black ice can form.
  • kyledsgkyledsg Posts: 1
    Hi,

just brought a 2006 GLI, love it, wanna married it but:

* How does that Bi xenon washer works?
    * I cannot seem to turn on lights else then the xenon headlights and fog lights, if i go high beams, xenon headlights become lighter but the headlights towarding center still not on...
    * reading thru blog, really worried that VW's reliablity now, I was gonna buy TSX ... But this mexican Jetta is just too fun to drive :-)