Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Is Supercharger Standard on 2003 D/C Pre runner Limited?

toddler2toddler2 Member Posts: 2
edited March 2014 in Toyota
Greetings,

I am new to this discussion board as well as Tacoma's in general. I just started looking for a Tacoma Prerunner Double Cab Limited/TRD, 3.4. I just visited a dealer in Fresno, CA who told me that this model (Limited) comes standard with a supercharger (or blower?) that boosts the HP from 190 to 240?? I am not a "car-guy" so I didn't know if I was getting duped.

I have done research on the Toyota website as well as Edmunds and can find no mention of this in the Limited Option package? Anyone know if this is true?? Something tells me it's not.

Any help would be most appreciated.

Thanks a lot!!

p.s. Anyone know about the availability of Limited package double-cab pre-runners on the west coast? I have only been to two dealers and each say that they are hard to get. Thanks

Comments

• sc0rpi0sc0rpi0 Member Posts: 897
    Let's talk in the Tacoma Problems forum, but basically: if you see a TRD supercharger listed on the sheet for the truck, then it's included. Also, price for the truck just went up $3000 (for blower itself, if you're lucky) + $500 or so for install of it by dealer. The #s he gave you are fairly correct.

Best way to check for supercharger: open the hood and look for it. It's the shiny (or black) conical-looking thing that sits on top of the engine, it'll have "TRD Supercharger" on top of it, and will have a pulley with a belt from the engine.
  • kg11kg11 Member Posts: 530
    Which dealer told you the supercharger is standard? Michael?
    The supercharger is a $3,000 option(plus installation) that most people choose not to get.It's fun but you don't need it and it's not free.After the $3k you'll lose fuel economy and they don't recomend towing with it.