Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Toyota RAV4 Prices Paid and Buying Experience

Comments

• psychoanalystpsychoanalyst Member Posts: 1
    edited December 2011
    Hello,

I am currently a resident of Atlanta, GA, but I am going to move to upstate New York for my job in about a month's time.

I have a 2001 Toyota Corolla that I either going to sell/trade-in. But I am in a bit of a dilemma, hence I thought I'd seek your advice.

I have the option of either buying the car here or going to NY and buying the car there, especially since my company is funding my entire move. However, my Corolla is due for a tire change and that would mean an extra $500 for a car I am not sure (i) I will have for that long and (ii) will be able to handle the driving conditions in upstate NY.

So, the problems with my current vehicle notwithstanding, do you think there are advantages to buying the car in GA vs NY? I am guessing that if I buy the car new from an authorized dealership, I should not have issues with warranty etc.

The one advantage that I can see of buying the car in NY is availability of the model I want. I am looking for the V6 4x4 and I can see that GA dealerships have either very limited or no stock of that combo. But I don't know if that is reason enough to pump in another $500 into my current car.

I would appreciate your advice/opinions on this matter.

Many thanks.

Avi
  • suzie0156suzie0156 Member Posts: 8
    Currently in process of buying and I will be getting mine in a week.

I had originally wanted a V-6 engine and the LTD but I am not a bells and whistles type of gal and I decided I wanted to save money and go with the base model. I am driving a 1994 Corolla now so the base Rav 4 will be loaded compared to my current vehicle!