Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Ford Explorer Prices Paid and Buying Experience

Comments

• eidnaeidna Member Posts: 4
    Hello,
    I was just offered this from a local Louisville, KY dealer:

2008 Explorer Eddie Bauer V6 4WD
    3rd row seat
    moon roof
    MSRP: $34335
    Invoice: $32629
    X-plan: $32574.43
    Rebates: ($4250)
    Cap Cost: $28324

36 months @ 10,500 miles/year
    43% residual
    2.7% money factor
    $451/month includes KY property tax ($26/mo)

Will someone please tell me if this good enough? Should we take them up on it?

THANKS!!!!
  • wmspinwmspin Member Posts: 1
    First, many thanks to car_man for such great information. I have been lurking these forums for several months now so I could understand money factors, residuals, and leasing in general. I am completely new to the entire leasing process.

In Sunday's newspaper, I saw an ad for a 2008 V6 XLT, Keyless Entry, Pwr. Wind/Locks. Was $26,915, Now $15,995. Zero Down, 24 Mo. Lease, 10,500 mi/year, No Plan Needed, Save $10,920 Off MSRP, a $500 Gas Card, $0 Security, for $229/month. I decided this sounded way too good to be true. We've all seen the ridiculously low lease ads only to read in the small print the thousands down required...

So, I contacted them and to my amazement, they stood behind their advertisement and offered me one of the vehicles. I asked if the same "deal" applied to higher end models and they indicated the would use the same discounting process.

I asked about Ford's money factors and residuals for a 2008 Ford Explorer Eddie Bauer 4X4. Ford's money factor was 0.25% (no, that is not a misprint) for 24 month leases, and 2.5% for 36 month leases. Residuals for 24 month leases were 51% for 10,500 mi/yr; 50% for 12,000 mi/yr; and 48% for 15,000 mi/yr. Residuals for 36 month leases were 44% for 10,500 mi/yr; 43% for 12,000 mi/yr; and 41% for 15,000 mi/yr.