Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Help, I'm a new driver and insurance costs are giving me a heart attack

bulletproofbulletproof Member Posts: 5
edited June 2016 in General
Hello I'm a new driver and I just got my license last month, I want to buy a car and start driving now but it seems insurance is holding me back. I'm 22 years old and recently got a quote from GEICO for bare minimum insurance for a 2003 Buick LeSabre and they want about 6,000$ FOR SIX MONTHS, I can't afford that.. if I take off even more coverage its down to about 4,000$ which is still too expensive.. How is a guy supposed to live when he has to pay that much for car insurance? I can't afford my bills with rates like that..

Comments

• andre1969andre1969 Member Posts: 25,653
    like they're trying to make you squeal like a pig. Any reason WHY your quote is so high? Do you have a bad driving record or anything like that?

My roommate has Geico, and I think they're ripping him to the tune of around $2300 a year, for full coverage on a '98 Chevy Tracker. About the best thing I can suggest you to do is call around. Also, don't screw around with those automated internet quotes that Geico and Progressive, and others offer. Call an office and speak to a live agent!

I could see you getting screwed for insurance if you were like 16 or 17, but by the time you're 22, if you have a good driving record, your insurance should have taken a big drop. For example, way back in 1987 when I first got insurance, liability-only, but in my own name (not on my parents' policy), my premium was $1361 that first year. The second year it dropped to $1280, then to something like $1079. It actually got down to $703 a year when I was 21, and would have gone to $653 the next year, but then I got 2 points on my record, and that shot me back up to around $969.