Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Help, I'm a new driver and insurance costs are giving me a heart attack

Comments

• CarMan@EdmundsCarMan@Edmunds Member Posts: 38,514
    Hi modestmouse. Geico is indeed a legitimate company. I do not see anything wrong with insuring your vehicle through them if their quote was significantly lower than the others that you received.

Car_man
    Host
    Smart Shoppers Message Board
  • prophet2prophet2 Member Posts: 372
    .... is legit. For the record, I have been insured with them for eight years. Never had any problems with claims or service. I've been in the insurance business for 32 years, including 20+ in property and casualty (P&C) of which auto is part of.

I was my own agent through Transamerica (TIG) and switched not just because of the premium savings, which were significant, but because TIG would not give me the property damage limits I needed on a leased vehicle.
  • jlawrence01jlawrence01 Member Posts: 1,757
    For years, I had my vehicle insured by State Farm or Allstate. Always believed that you needed an agent for customer service and if you had a claim. However, when I had a claim on my home policy, I could never get the State Farm agent to respond to my calls.

At work, they offer a GROUP auto and home policy through METLIFE. No agent, just an 800 number. The savings were something like 40% from the previous company. I have been with them since 1995 and have had NO problems getting good customer service and quick response to my claims.
  • boomer1bboomer1b Member Posts: 316
    Offers great rates. But they a pretty picky also.
    You must have a garage. No young drivers. Clean DL. etc.......

Get one ticket and they drop ya like a rock!

I Had them here in NY for a few years. Now use AIG !

MM...You could raise your deduct to $1000. Dump towing and rental also. That would save ya $$$$