Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

BMW M3 Maintenance and Repair

Comments

• gmonkiesgmonkies Member Posts: 35
    Okay, I know I'm not an expert mechanic but I didn't realized I can be that bad of a nebie with my M3. I have obtain all the expensive parts to change my power steering lines, $565 dollars worth of 3 lines, reservior and washers. But I'm stuck on how do I get the jack stand underneath my car. They leave no room for weight bearing under the sideskirt to put a jackstand next to the jack. And unlike my hondas, I can't figure out if there is a weight bearing location in front of the radiator without tearing the bumper and all the plastics off. I know the lower control arms bolt to the frame so around that area can be a possible jack location to allow 4 points under the side skirt for jackstand placement. But the end of the lower control arm is covered by a metal plate which I don't think is thick enough to bear weight. I can't believe I'm stuck on the very first basic before a job starts. How do you guys do it???????

Also, as I was flying back to Ca the other night, I realize the Delta skymall catalog has an oil change machine for sale. It's a machine that sucks the oil out from the dip stick hole. They claims Mercedes dealer change oil the same way. Has anyone else seen it or used it? Does Mercedes really change oil that way with a machine? It sure would make life easier and cleaner. But can it really get rid of all the old oil and gunk as good as the traditional drain from the oil pan plug bolt?
  • roadburnerroadburner Member Posts: 17,348
    How do you guys do it???????

Here is one method.

Has anyone else seen it or used it?

I use this extractor.

Does Mercedes really change oil that way with a machine?

Yes.

But can it really get rid of all the old oil and gunk as good as the traditional drain from the oil pan plug bolt?