Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!
Options

Honda Odyssey vs. Toyota Sienna

Comments

• Options
    scoutleaderscoutleader Member Posts: 18
    I'm comparing these two models. Most of what I'm reading on this board discusses the pros & cons of Touring, XLE, Etc. w/ navigation system. Anyone with experience w/ LE & EX? I've got a quote of $1510 off MSRP of EX ($28510). On the Sienna LE w/ BZ pkg., I've been quoted $27,000.

I've been driving a Volvo wgn for 17 yrs, so both these vans feel very different to me. I have 3 boys (and a husband) and we frequently travel long distances. We like to tent camp and haul camping gear and bicycles w/us. The split 3rd row seat is important to us as is comfort and reliability.

Some of my friends w/ the 2001 - 2002 Odyssey's complain about sliding doors sticking. Has Honda overcome this problem in 2005? It may have been a problem on the manual doors only. I like the
    dual sliding door feature on the Odyssey.

I'm a little concerned about the gas mileage issue w/ the Sienna not achieving posted mileage w/ regular unleaded gas. I felt only a slight difference in handling and response between the two. With the LE, I sensed a slower response to acceleration after applying the brake.

Has anyone out there compared these 2 models?
  • Options
    hansiennahansienna Member Posts: 2,312
    I have sat in many Odysseys and Siennas. The Odyssey FEELS bigger and more spacious inside than the Sienna.
        I was very impressed with the specifications of the new 2004 Sienna back in 2003 when they were released. However, sitting in all minivans gave me a different impression than comparing the manufacturer's specifications.
        The front seats have comparable comfort BUT the 2nd row Odyssey seats are much more comfortable and the 60/40 split 3rd row seats are much easier to fold into the floor in the Odyssey.