Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Dodge Ram Real World MPG Numbers

Comments

• fueledupfueledup Member Posts: 64
    forgot to mention i have 3.73 rear end. i had a 4.10 rear end in a chevy and mpg really sucked.
  • dillondawgdillondawg Member Posts: 18
    Mine is a dually and I'm a pretty conservative driver. Open road with cruise control @ 65 nets about 21.5 MPG. General driving about 16 MPG. Truck weighs 7330 with me and a full tank of fuel on board. Engine is the 24 valve version of the Cummins.

Will
  • lss2lss2 Member Posts: 2
    I just bought a 2003 with the 4.7 with 70,000 miles and my first full tank of gas was spent on city driving only and it was 8.2 mpg! I am a very conservative driver, always watching the mpg readout. What can I do? I burned 87 octane and will try premium next time, but if it doesn’t improve it going up for sale. $63.10 for 173 miles, come on.

Other than that I LOVE THIS TRUCK!
  • kipkkipk Member Posts: 1,576
    lss2

How is the Ram equipped? 2 door, 4 door, AT, 2 or 4wd, etc.? Is it a 1500, 2500,3500 series? Are you hauling or towing with it daily? How much weight?

What type vehicle, engine size, tranny, and so forth did you drive under the same conditions before the 03 Ram? What kind of mileage did it get with all city driving?

Thanks,
    Kip
  • badd63badd63 Member Posts: 2
    I posted earlier about milage dropping from 14 to 9 after the dealer worked on the truck. wvchaddox asked if the dealer perhaps turned off MDS--From what I read, MDS wasn't available until 2006, so I don't think mine was equipped (though I did buy it while the 06s were already out).

Modification Update:
    After the K&N, I saw ~0.5mpg increase. After using the Hypertech max energy, I can see and additional ~1.5mpg increase.