Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

MazdaSpeed3: Styling Impressions

Comments

• baggs32baggs32 Member Posts: 3,229
    Rather than try to get the two shafts at exactly the same length, maybe they make the longer shaft slightly thicker so that both shafts twist at the same rate?

That would be my guess too. I don't belive the shafts in the MPS3 are of equal length so making one thicker would slow it's rate of spin and even out the power delivery. But I'm no engineer so anyone who knows the real deal please stand up! :D

It makes sense if you think about it though. Take wheel diameters and how increasing/decreasing them changes the way a vehicle behaves. Speedometers need recalibrated, fuel economy chages slightly, etc.
  • seanwms6seanwms6 Member Posts: 121
    Good theories, hopefully to be addressed in the forthcoming major mag reviews.
    Here's the skinny on the Nov C&D review. I picked it up at the N.Austin Barnes & Noble thanks to a tip from Rorr.

Very good review overall, well-written with touches of Top Gear color. For example: "The Verdict: Mazda's minute wagon gets drunk on boost without losing it's balance." Apparently they had a tough time figuring out how to get the best drag strip times. They asked Mazda and Mazda told them to "flat shift through 2nd and 3rd . . . . Don't worry it won't break." Apparently keeping the thing floored while shifting violates C&D's test protocols, and they equate this to dropping a Steinway on the clutch and half-shafts. So I am unclear if they followed this advice or not.