Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Honda Accord Modifications

dandanmandandanman Member Posts: 1
I just recently bought a 1992 Honda Accord Sedan EX.
I would like to upgrade this car a bit, however i am new at this and dont even know where to start.

I want to upgrade horsepower and engine performance.

Please post some good upgrades with full names and maybe some web sites so i can see the products.

Your help will be greatly appriciated, Thank you.

-Dan

Comments

• midnightcowboymidnightcowboy Member Posts: 1,978
    You have a generation 4 Honda accord ( 90-93) doe searches on 1992 or generation 4 Honda Accord on the internet look for performance, upgrades, modifications.

The best upgrades:

(1) Cold air intake 10-15 hp
    (2) Headers 5-10 hp
    (3) cat-back exhaust 5-8 hp

You can also repalce pistons, camshaft, etc. but then you are looking at lots of $$$

You might want to look at sawy bars, suspension , shocks.

Good Luck,

MidCow
  • Mr_ShiftrightMr_Shiftright Member Posts: 64,481
    Those are good starters. Also keep in mind that his suggestion for suspension upgrades is worthwhile, because sometimes you can go faster without adding any HP at all! Some track racers say that superior brakes and supsension is worth at least 50HP on the track.
  • msobwmsobw Member Posts: 2
    I just bought a 2005 Accord EX Sedan. One of my few gripes are the tiny wheels (and the LED display on the radio during the day, but that's another topic). I'd like to upgrade to a wider/larger tire. What is optimum size/width so the tires look good in proportion to the body? Do I have to buy brand new rims, too? I'd like to be able to use the stock rims (new ones are nice but expensive!!!) and only pay for the new tires. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
    You might post your question here to the rep from the Tire Rack who runs a forum here at Edmunds: