Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Toyota Tacoma Prerunner (owner experiences)

1235»

Comments

• estevesesteves Member Posts: 12
    I don't suppose there is an intercooler installed with the supercharger? If not, can an aftermarket intercooler be installed.

Sorry for all the questions. I'm still learning about the details of Toyota engines.
  • saddaddysaddaddy Member Posts: 566
    I don't think there is any type of intercooler available for Tacomas. It would certainly be an extremely useful accessory - so I gotta believe that someone is working on one. Just haven't heard about anything specific. I remember a post like this over at the TTORA site about 6 months ago, and the answer was that no one made one. A believe a member was trying to fab one up on his own but wasn't making much progress. Let's keep our fingers crossed!
    I understand the supercharger boosts horsepower to 260 hp. Does anyone know the torque increase. I don't suppose there is a dyno chart posted somewhere on the internet.

Interestingly enough, an uninformed sales person at the local Toyota dealership said 265 and another said 270 increase for the supercharger.
    is 267 ft-lbs. That is a 23% increase according to what I have read. I can't find the dyno chart that used to be at performanceproducts.com. The torque curve is not only higher but smoother as well.
  • smgillessmgilles Member Posts: 252
    Maximum hp gain at 5200 RPM is + 75 hp.

Maximum torque gain at 5200 RPM is + 77 lb.ft.

Peak hp increase is 64 hp (187 hp – 251 lb.ft.)

Peak torque increase is 50 lb.ft. (225 lb.ft. – 275 lb.ft.)

Supercharged V6 produces as much torque at 1800 RPM (225 lb.ft.) as the normally-aspirated V6 does at its peak.

http://www.trdsportparts.com/default.asp?page=supercharger
    I'd like to thank everyone for their prompt answers.