Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Suzuki Grand Vitara (2005 and earlier)

Comments

• mopar67mopar67 Posts: 728
    sometimes at the answers customers are fed by the dealer.
  • sol8airsol8air Posts: 1
    but I have some questions. I live near Seattle and it does snow here (not a lot but when it does it's pretty slick). I currently own a 1998 Forester, and even with really high-end all weather tires I put on last year, it didn't do too well in the snow storm we had a few months back. SCARY!! I will be purchasing automatic (I don't do manual). Has Suzuki improved the stock tires they put on or will I need to change them before next winter, and has anyone experience with these newer models?

I also have concern about this timing chain vs timing belt thing. I am not a mechanic. I am not a guy. I am a single mom transporting a kid in a wheelchair and tired of driving farty monster "mom-mobiles". The Suzuki GV looks cool and youthful and great for my mid-life crisis <grin>. Other than the enormous turning circle (more than 38 feet) and lousy behaviour in snow, I have had no real problem with the Forester, but I like the look and feel of the Grand Vitara (drove one for the first time today). I like that it's small and compact, moves when I push the accelerator and stops when I touch the brake. The only service I have ever had to give the Forester has been routine oil changes at Jiffy Lube and brakes relined at Midas after like 60K (I have ~80K on it now). What is this "timing chain" thing on the GV that I read has to be periodically replaced, how often does that need done and how expensive it it? Any other routine maintainance that is different from other little trucks? I do not think I have ever had a car or light truck that had such a thing (if it did I was never made aware of it) and I have had Jeeps and little Ford trucks.

kj
  • cosmocosmo Posts: 203