Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Which New Budget Car Better? Fit/Yaris/Versa?

1235»

Comments

• degamandegaman Member Posts: 5
    My fit is now 5 months old and has about 8000 miles. Gas mileage is constantly between 29 and 32 mpg, which I think is more than adequate. Everything else about this car has exceeded my expectations.

I own a Toyota 4Runner, Ford Expedition, Ford F150, Nissan Altima, and a Nissan Titan. The Honda Fit is my favorite!
  • bobw3bobw3 Member Posts: 2,989
    You have a lot of cars!
  • thegraduatethegraduate Member Posts: 9,731
    thegraduate,

The Fit is by far the superior car -- compare lifetime costs, not intial purchase price. In addition to being more fuel economical, the Honda holds its value and is more reliable.

Hey, I'm a Honda driver... nuff said on that subject? :)

Seriously though, some people (me included) require a car that is larger than the Fit, but can still be purchased for under $16k. The Elantra comes in with midsize interior room at subcompact price. For some, that's all they need to hear. Hyundai's reliability has improved more than many Honda buyers give them credit for, too.

With a 10year/100,000 mile warranty, repair costs shouldn't be an issue for the average Hyundai buyer.
  • abeaverabeaver Member Posts: 3
    My choice was easy. In Canada, I believe there is nothing on the road like "made in Japan". I would be shocked if anything else produced could match a true Japanese import coming off a well established line in terms of quality and reliability. I can get good milage if I try but, with a M/T DX (it is the lightest therefore the fastest) I'm having a really hard time driving for milage and not for fun. When the new car buzz fades, fun really matters
  • mwqamwqa Member Posts: 106