Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Chevy S10 - GMC S15 and Sonoma Transmission Problems

Comments

• hollisterhollister Member Posts: 2
    Hi, where you able to get any advice on your problem? my 98 sonoma 4.3 v6 is surging also, I have had it to a few shops any no answers yet. frustrating!
  • eeclipse7769eeclipse7769 Member Posts: 1
    I Have a 94 S10 with 70,000, pulled some heavy loads withit and tranny went out no gears after fluid change. replaced with Astro Van xmsn with 17,000 miles on. worked great for 500 miles and now it is out same problems. xcept this time put in reverse it slides in gear until rpms increase then it chatters bad and feels like it will shake apart. all forward gears are fine until up to temp then nothing. Replaced fluid and filter again, same gripe. Could it be something external to xmsn or do I need to replace/rebuild. I was a Helicopter Mechanic for 8 years in the Marine Corps, and auto xmsns are as complex, thank God for you tranny guys, or should I specify Transmission Experts. Tranny has a bad connotation, hense aircraft abbreviation XMSN or QMSN. Another perfectly good mechanical word gone bad.
  • gonogogonogo Member Posts: 879
    The ignition switch has been a known problem, the one at the lower column. Usually at the same time the cluster acts weird.
  • arienarien Member Posts: 4