Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Mercury Milan vs Toyota Camry

behbeh Member Posts: 2
edited March 2014 in Mercury
I plan to buy a midsize sedan around 20-23,000.
I am a gentle driver, drive average 10.000 miles/year, would like to keep this car for 7-8 years, even maybe more if goes troublelessly! Do care mainly about safety and convenient driving, and want an automatic transmission. Do NOT care about "fancy" features, as most people do!! Hate driving noises, love smooth driving. Have narrowed my options down to these two cars: Mercury Millan 2006 (not sure the basic I4 vs the V6 type though yet), and Toyota Camry 2006/2007 (simply, the basic standard trim). Also, I am open to consider other cars with more-or-less same characteristics, if recommended over these two. Have heard new Hondas have "weak transmission" which breaks down in few years, it may not be really true(?), but makes me nervous about Honda.
What do you guys recommend? Appreciate much.

Comments

• jordanrobinsonjordanrobinson Member Posts: 42
    Not to stray too far off topic, but I know the New 3.5L V-6 that is going in the 2007 MKZ boasts 263HP. So that's getting better for sure. I hope they make this optional for Fusion/Milan. So far I haven't heard anything about it, but it certainly seems possible. We can hope anyway! :)
  • picard12picard12 Member Posts: 55
    Honda transmission problems had been fix before 2005. Other Honda accord users mentioned to me that the transmission of 2005 models run just fine. There is no problem for 2006 model either. The problem with transmission is on Passat 2006 and new audi 2006.

The camry V6 is much quieter than 4cyl version. You have to remember that the new camry use same engine of Avalon. Therefore it will be quiet as a church mouse. :)
  • scape2scape2 Member Posts: 4,123
    Nissan Altima
    Chevrolet Malibu
    Hyundai Sonata
    Mazda 6