Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Infiniti QX4

Comments

• sweetpea7sweetpea7 Member Posts: 5
    I'm a pretty conservative driver. I've had 2 SUVs prior to this with no problems in handling in wet weather so should be okay on that aspect. I do intend to pull a small trailer once in a while so hope it has enough muscle to do that without problems. Do you think I can rely on the towing capacity stated? Thanks for your help as this is a big decision.
  • mthomas3mthomas3 Member Posts: 33
    Another drawback to AUTO mode is that it creates heat and causes wear in the transfer case. This heats up the transfer case fluid. that is why there is a warning light on the dash for transfer case overheat. If you are driving on dirt or gravel, use the 4wd-lock position.

If you do use the auto mode, replace the fluid once a year to reduce wear. I recommend a synthetic Dexron III ATF such as Mobil 1. refill is about 3 quarts.

By the way, the clunk is aggravated by an accumulation of driveline stresses that you get when the front axle has a small amount of mismatch of actual revolutions with the back end. This is caused by turning and wheel slippage. When driven on dirt, the driveline can self adjust. But driven on pavement, the driveline winds up a bit and cannot adjust until the transfer case disengages when the engine is turned off.
  • reinvareinva Member Posts: 3
    320Cobra-

I also have the EXACT same problem that you describe on my 2001 Pathfinder. With about 4,000 miles on it now, the problem is still there. Were you able to find out the problem or get it fixed?
  • infinitisellerinfinitiseller Member Posts: 23
    It's easy. Any questions?
  • major7major7 Member Posts: 31