Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

Toyota Yaris Real-World MPG

Comments

• familyman5746familyman5746 Member Posts: 4
    45 is kind of flukey. I hypermile and have only gotten 5-6 tanks over 40 mpg. Keep the rpms under 2500 and do more coasting to stops. I don't use the cruise control very much and "pulse and glide"

Check out www.cleanmpg.com for more tips.
  • micwebmicweb Member Posts: 1,617
    I am a VERY easy driver with an easy commute. I practice gas saving techniques - I hate to call them hypermiling since Popular Mechanics wrote articles on the basic techniques back in the '60's when I was growing up - and averaged 37-38 mpg on my Yaris LB, which was much better than the 34-35 on my Scion xA (although they had the same engines), both with stick shifts. I would have loved to have seen more than 38, but the only car that ever did that was my Honda Fit, which hit 39 once and 40 once, but honestly I think more due to slight fill variations than anything else.

That having been said, if there was a contest and a place to drive a constant 50 mph with no hills or declines, I think the higher ranges are within the capability of those engines in those light vehicles.

It's a shame that the Scion, Fit, Yaris are still geared for rapid freeway pickup in 5th, instead of making 5th a true overdrive as on the latest Focus and Cobalt - but I guess they are afraid of complaints from drivers who might have to downshift to 4th for passing or hills, or complaints from slowdowns while in cruise control mode.
  • CARPLUVCARPLUV Member Posts: 2
    How did your back feel? I drive 900 miles a week in a Yaris . I am not obese and I need a chiropractor often!!
  • jetfirekjetfirek Member Posts: 16